Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Congratulations to 2019-2020 Lunsford Award and Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to Tyler Abarca, Joe Metzger, and Alex Novak, recipients of the 2019-2020 Margaret V. Lunsford Award.

The Lunsford Award is granted to senior Department of Anesthesia externs with high academic success, and who demonstrate potential to contribute to the specialty of anesthesiology. Each of the awardees will receive a $10,000 scholarship from the University of Iowa Center for Advancement. If they match as an anesthesiology resident at Iowa, they will receive an additional $10,000 cash award when they begin residency.

Margaret Vanderwilt Lunsford, an anesthesiologist whose career spanned more than three decades, created the Margaret Vanderwilt Lunsford Scholarship Fund through the UI Center for Advancement (formerly known as the University of Iowa Foundation) in 1985. The fund became endowed in the 1990s following her death.

Tyler Abarca Tyler Abarca       Joseph Metzger Joseph Metzger, Chief Extern    Alexander Novak  Alexander Novak

In addition to the Margaret V. Lunsford Awards, the Department of Anesthesia and the UI Center for Advancement have worked together to provide each of our 12 externs a $1,000 Lunsford Scholarship, which will be applied to their respective tuition accounts.

Please congratulate all of our externs for their fine work when you see them!

Anesthesia Externs - 2019-2020

Tyler Abarca     Kyle Anderson     Elijah Dahlstrom     Steven Ilko 
Tyler Abarca                                     Kyle Anderson                               Elijah Dahlstrom                            Steven Ilko


Wahida Khan     Joseph Metzger     Alexander Novak     Raul Ocampo Landa 
Wahida Khan                                   Joseph Metzger                             Alexander Novak                          Raul Ocampo Landa
                                                              Chief Extern


Ruth Riedl    Isaac Schwantes      Isaac Sheffield     Matthew Wilson
Ruth Riedl                                        Isaac Schwantes                             Isaac Sheffield                               Matthew Wilson


Monday, July 15, 2019