Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Hays and Krishnan Named Vice Chairs

Cynthia A. Wong, MD, Chair and DEO of the Department of Anesthesia, Wednesday announced the appointments of Stephen R. Hays, MS, MD, FAAP as Vice Chair for Faculty Affairs and Development and Sundar Krishnan, MBBS, as Vice Chair for Education. Both appointments are effective January 1, 2020.

Stephen R. Hays, MD  Stephen R. Hays, MS, MD, FAAP    Sundar Krishnan Sundar Krishnan, MBBS


Dr. Hays joined the University of Iowa in February as Clinical Professor of Anesthesia and Pediatrics and Director of Pediatric Pain Services. In addition to being board-certified in two specialties (Pediatrics, Anesthesiology) and three sub-specialties (Pediatric Critical Care Medicine, Hospice & Palliative Medicine, Pediatric Anesthesiology), he is an elected member of the Executive Committee of the American Academy of Pediatrics Section on Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine, an elected member of the Board of Directors of the Society for Pediatric Pain Medicine, and a Full Examiner for the American Board of Anesthesiology. He also serves on the Board’s Standardized Oral Examination and Objective Structured Clinical Examination committees.

Dr. Hays takes over the Vice Chair position from Brad Hindman, MD, who served in the role from 2004 until June 2019. During his 15 years of Vice Chair service, Dr. Hindman made significant contributions to faculty development within both the Department and the Carver College of Medicine, where he served on the Office of Faculty Affairs and Development Advisory Committee from 2006 to 2019. He also headed the Department’s New Faculty Development Program for 10 years and served on the Departmental Task Force on Physician-CRNA Interprofessional Interactions for five years.

Dr. Krishnan, who has been director of the Department’s Grand Rounds since September 2017, has earned the Residents’ Excellence in Teaching Award multiple times since joining the Department in 2009. He also has received an Off-Service Teacher of the Year award from the Department of Emergency Medicine and multiple teaching awards and nominations from medical students and the Carver College of Medicine. He served on the Society for Critical Care Medicine’s Undergraduate Education Committee from 2015 to 2017 and has been an active lecturer for both our resident and fellowship didactic programs.

Dr. Krishnan succeeds Debra Szeluga, PhD, MD, who has served as Vice Chair of Education since 2011. Dr. Szeluga also has been a reviewer for the Graduate Medical Education Annual Leadership Symposium since 2011 and a member of the University Hospital Advisory Committee-Graduate Medical Education Subcommittee since 2008. She also served as Residency Program Director for the Department from 2009 to June 2019.


Wednesday, December 11, 2019