Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Graduate Alumni 1940-1959

Name Year Mentor Last Known Position
John E. Harris 1940 Gibson Professor and Head of Ophthalmology, University of Minnesota Medical School
Raymond L. Borchers 1942 Berg Professor and Chair of Biochemistry and Nutrition, University of Nebraska
Ollie B. Houchin 1942 Mattill Director of Clinical Biochemistry, Mercy Hospital in Springfield Ohio
Robert M. Featherstone 1943 Berg Professor and Chair of Pharmacology, UCSF
Elizabeth L. Knapp 1943 Stearns Chief of Chemistry Service, Children's Orthopedic Hospital and Medical Center in Seattle
Arnold H. Schein 1943 Berg Professor of Biochemistry, San Jose State University
John P. Hummel 1947 Mattill Professor of Biochemistry, University of Iowa
Robert L. Dryer 1949 Routh & Paul Professor of Biochemistry, University of Iowa
John F. Van Pilsum 1949 Berg Professor of Biochemistry, University of Minnesota
Willard B. Elliott 1950 Kalnitsky Professor of Biochemistry, State University of New York
John P. Kaltenbach 1950 Kalnitsky Professor of Pathology and Biochemistry, Northwestern University Medical School
Merle Mason 1950 Berg Professor of Biological Chemistry, University of Michigan
David R. Celander 1952 Berg Professor and Chair of Biochemistry, College of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery, Des Moines University
George E. Inglett 1952 Mattill Lead Scientist, Functional Foods Research Unit, National Center for Agricultural Utilization Research, US Department of Agriculture, ARS
Harold P. Cohen 1953 Berg Professor of Neurology, Mayo Hospital, University of Minnesota
Ralph Penniall 1953 Routh Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry & Nutrition, University of North Carolina
William A. Phillips 1953 Berg Professor of Biochemistry, Kansas State University
James R. Gillette 1954 Kalnitsky Chief of Chemical Pharmacology, National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute, N.I.H.
Fountaine C. Brown 1955 Berg Professor of Biochemistry, University of Tennessee Medical School
John M. Franz 1955 Lata Professor and Associate Chair of Biochemistry, University of Missouri
Arthur F. Fishkin 1957 Lata Professor EmeritusĀ of Biomedical Sciences, Creighton University School of Medicine
Clara Y. Lim-Sylianco 1957 Berg Professor of Chemistry, University of the Philippines
Bernard F. Gerulat 1958 Berg Director of Clinical Chemistry and Assistant Professor of Pathology, New Jersey College of Medicine
John V. Straumfjord 1958 Hummel Professor and Chair of Pathology, Medical College of Wisconsin
Janardan P. Aroskar 1959 Berg Professor of Biochemistry, Edinboro State College
Lewis B. Barnett 1959 Bull Emeritus Professor of Biochemistry, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Harold Resnick 1959 Kalnitsky Professor of Biochemistry, West Virginia University Medical Center