BSURF Weekly Program Schedule - 2018

WEEK 1

 
Sat, May 19 First day to move into Petersen Hall (starting at 4:00 pm)  
Mon, May 21 BSURF HR Orientation Meeting, Heath Conference Room (4-403 BSB)
*During the orientation, Judy Means will meet with each student individually to complete their required HR paperwork.
 
  9:00 AM Welcome Session/Breakfast: Dr. Peter Rubenstein, Strand Director; Professor of Biochemistry & Internal Medicine, Pediatrics     
  10:30 AM Safety Training: Troy Struzynski, Manager, Biochemistry Stores  
  10:45 AM Equipment Usage: Paul Rogers, Engineering Specialist, Facility Maintenance  
  11:00 AM Tour of Labs: Kelli Sylvers, Biochemistry Graduate Student, Brandon Davies Lab  
  11:30 AM Microscopy Core Tour: Randy Nessler, Core Facility Research Manager  
  12:00 PM Lunch  
  1:00 PM Obtain UI ID Badge  
Fri, May 25
 
No BSURF Program Meeting This Week
 
 

WEEK 2

 
Mon, May 28 Holiday - University Offices Closed  
Fri, June 1
10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
 
Tour of Integrated DNA Technologies in Coralville, IA

Participants must wear full length pants and fully closed shoes.  This is a safety rule at IDT! 
There will be two tour time slots: 11 AM and 1:30 PM.  Please watch the schedule for the time slot we will be assigned to.
Students will have lunch in the food court at the Coral Ridge Mall in between visits.
 

WEEK 3

 
Sun, June 3
4:30 PM
Meet at Petersen Hall
Summer Programs Welcome - Tour of downtown Iowa City, followed by dinner at Oasis
Sponsored by the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP)
*Includes students in the SUMR, BSURF, and MSTP summer program.
 
Mon, June 4
3:30-5:00 PM
MERF 1117
FUTURE in Biomedicine Seminar Series - Panel on Training in Clinical Careers (MD, PA, and PT programs)

Presenters:
Ms. Kathleen Muhlenbruck, Admissions for the MD Program
Dr. Tom O’Shea, PhD, MEd, Physician Assistant Studies and Services
Dr. Kelly Sass, MPT, PhD, Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science

Sponsored by FUTURE in Biomedicine
 
Wed, June 6 9:00-9:30 AM
MERF Atrium
Continental Breakfast/Participant Check-in
Workshop will be held upstairs in 2117 MERF
 
  9:30-11:35 AM
MERF 2117
Grad School Applications 101
Sponsored by the Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
 

 
3:30-4:30 PM
EMRB Atrium & Patio
Welcome Reception - Come enjoy refreshments and meet other students!
Sponsored by the Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
 
Fri, June 8
 
BSURF Program Meeting
Graduate Student Admissions
Todd Washington, PhD, Professor, Biochemistry
 

WEEK 4

 
Mon, June 11
3:30-5:00 PM
1117 MERF
FUTURE in Biomedicine Seminar Series - Panel on Medical Scientist Training Programs (MSTP)

Presenters:
Dr. Ashley Hood, PhD, Medical Scientist Training Program
Current MSTP Students

Sponsored by FUTURE in Biomedicine
 
Tues, June 12
12:00-1:00 PM
1289 CBRB, Kelch Conf Room
Summer Undergraduate Seminar Series
Sponsored by the Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
 
Wed, June 13
12:00 PM
1289 CBRB, Kelch Conf Room
Wednesday Seminar Series (Lunch included!)
Sponsored by the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP)
 
Thur, June 14
12:00 PM
1185 MERF
Thursday Seminar Series (Lunch included!)
Sponsored by the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP)
 
Fri, June 15
8:30-3:00 PM
UI Carver College of Medicine
Careers in Human Genetics Information Day
Open to all students and recent graduates - all BSURF students have been pre-registered
Please refer to the Schedule of Events for topics and location
 

WEEK 5

 
Mon, June 18
3:30-5:00 PM
1117 MERF
FUTURE in Biomedicine Seminar Series
Sponsored by FUTURE in Biomedicine
 
Tues, June 19
12:00-1:00 PM
1289 CBRB, Kelch Conf Room
Summer Undergraduate Seminar Series
Sponsored by the Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
 
Wed, June 20
12:00 PM
1289 CBRB, Kelch Conf Room
Wednesday Seminar Series (Lunch included!)
Sponsored by the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP)
 
Thur, June 21
12:00 PM
1185 MERF
Thursday Seminar Series (Lunch included!)
Sponsored by the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP)
 
Fri, June 22
 
No BSURF Program Meeting This Week  

WEEK 6

 
Mon, June 25
3:30-5:00 PM
1117 MERF
FUTURE in Biomedicine Seminar Series
Sponsored by FUTURE in Biomedicine
 
Tues, June 26
12:00-1:00 PM
1289 CBRB, Kelch Conf Room
Summer Undergraduate Seminar Series
Sponsored by the Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
 
Wed, June 27
12:00 PM
1289 CBRB, Kelch Conf Room
Wednesday Seminar Series (Lunch included!)
Sponsored by the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP)
 
Thur, June 28
12:00 PM
1185 MERF
Case-Based Learning - Session 1, Dr. Peter Rubenstein
Sponsored by the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP)
 
Fri, June 29
9:30 AM
Heath Conf Room
BSURF Program Meeting
Model Organisms in Biochemistry
Daniel Weeks, PhD, Professor, Biochemistry
 

WEEK 7

 
Mon, July 2
3:30-5:00 PM
1117 MERF
FUTURE in Biomedicine Seminar Series
Sponsored by FUTURE in Biomedicine
 
Tues, July 3
12:00-1:00 PM
1289 CBRB, Kelch Conf Room
Summer Undergraduate Seminar Series
Sponsored by the Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
 
Wed, July 4 Holiday - University Offices Closed  
Thur, July 5
12:00 PM
1185 MERF
Case Based Learning - Session 2, Dr. Peter Rubenstein
Sponsored by the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP)
 
Fri, July 6
9:30 AM
Heath Conf Room
BSURF Program Meeting
Instructions for Short Oral Presentations
Peter Rubenstein, PhD, Professor, Biochemistry
 

WEEK 8

 
Mon, July 9
3:30-5:00 PM
1117 MERF
FUTURE in Biomedicine Seminar Series
Sponsored by FUTURE in Biomedicine
 
Tues, July 10
12:00-1:00 PM
1289 CBRB, Kelch Conf Room
Summer Undergraduate Seminar Series
Sponsored by the Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
 
Wed, July 11
12:00 PM
1289 CBRB, Kelch Conf Room
Wednesday Seminar Series (Lunch included!)
Sponsored by the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP)
 
Thur, July 12
12:00 PM
1185 MERF
Thursday Seminar Series (Lunch included!)
Sponsored by the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP)
 
Fri, July 13
9:30 AM
Heath Conf Room
BSURF Program Meeting
Metabolism Research in Biochemistry
Ryan Sheldon, PhD, Postdoctoral Research Scholar, Biochemistry
 

WEEK 9

 
Mon, July 16
3:30-5:00 PM
1117 MERF
FUTURE in Biomedicine Seminar Series
Sponsored by FUTURE in Biomedicine
 
Tues, July 17
12:00-1:00 PM
1289 CBRB, Kelch Conf Room
Summer Undergraduate Seminar Series
Sponsored by the Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
 
Wed, July 18
12:00 PM
1289 CBRB, Kelch Conf Room
Wednesday Seminar Series (Lunch included!)
Sponsored by the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP)
 
Thur, July 19
12:00 PM
1185 MERF
Thursday Seminar Series (Lunch included!)
Sponsored by the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP)
 
Fri, July 20
9:30 AM
Heath Conf Room
BSURF Program Meeting
Short Oral Presentations - Students
Peter Rubenstein, PhD, Professor, Biochemistry
 

WEEK 10

 
Mon, July 23
3:30-5:00 PM
1117 MERF
FUTURE in Biomedicine Seminar Series
Sponsored by FUTURE in Biomedicine
Tues, July 24
 
12:00-1:00 PM
1289 CBRB Kelch Conf Room   
Summer Undergraduate Seminar Series                                                                            
Sponsored by the Office of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
  3:30-4:30 PM
EMRB Atrium & Patio
Farewell Reception - Enjoy refreshments and share your summer research experience with other students!
Wed, July 25
1:00 PM
IMU
Annual Summer Undergraduate Research Conference - All Students Must Attend and Present!
Sponsored by the Graduate College
 
Fri, July 27
12:00-1:00 PM
Location TBD
Last day in the lab - BSURF Student/Mentor Group Lunch  
Sat, July 28 Must be moved out of Petersen Hall by noon