Dr. Shea’s Biophysical Society Blog “Making the Most of the Annual Meeting: Tips for First-Timers”

Dr. Madeline Shea will be presented with the Emily M. Gray Award in Education at the 62nd Annual Meeting of the Biophysical Society in San Francisco on February 19. In advance of the meeting, Dr. Shea published a blog piece to help first-time attendees at the meeting. Read her advice here: https://biophysicalsociety.wordpress.com/2018/02/09/making-the-most-of-t...

Congrats Fall 2017 Biochemistry PhD Graduates

Shuxiang Li, a Biochemistry PhD student mentored by Dr. Adrian Elcock, received a PhD on December 15,2017 entitled, “Computer simulations exploring conformational preferences of short peptides and developing a bacterial chromosome model”. Shuxiang has accepted a postdoctoral position with Dr. Wilma Olson’s Laboratory at Rutgers University.   Liyang Zhang, a Biochemistry PhD student mentored by […]

Dr. Weeks receives 2017 CCOM Faculty Service Award

Congratulations to Dr. Daniel Weeks, who was awarded the 2017 Faculty Service Award from the Carver College of Medicine. Dr.  Weeks is an internationally known nuclei acid biochemistry and developmental biologist who has had a productive research career and won many teaching awards. For the past 30 years, Dr. Weeks has dedicated three decades to […]

Dr. Fuentes receives 2017 CCOM Collegiate Teaching Award

Congratulations to Professor Ernesto Fuentes for being chosen to receive a Carver College of Medicine (CCOM) Collegiate Teaching Award for 2017. Dr. Fuentes’ didactic teaching has included an unusually wide range of topics such as protein structure analysis, enzyme kinetics and molecular biology. He has taught a broad range of students in undergraduate laboratory courses (Biochem. […]

Miles Pufall received Donald D. Dorfman Award

Dr. Miles Pufall received the 2017 Donald D. Dorfman Award of $10,000 for his paper entitled “Suppression of B-cell development genes is key to glucocorticoid efficacy in treatment of acute lymphoblastic leukemia,” which was published in the June 2017 issue of Blood. The Dorfman Award is given annually to the best research papers in leukemia […]

Ryan Sheldon receives F32 award

Ryan Sheldon, a Postdoc in the Taylor laboratory, received an F32 Postdoctoral Fellowship awarded by the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. Dr. Sheldon’s project entitled “Regulation of Hepatic Lipogenesis by a Mitochondrial Pyruvate Carrier-Citrate Carrier Axis,” addresses the major public health problem of hyperlipidemia during Type 2 Diabetes. Excess lipid production in the […]

Elizabeth Boehm receives 2017 Subramanian Thesis Award

Elizabeth Boehm, who completed her PhD with Dr. M. Todd Washington, has been awarded the 2017 Subramanian Award for best PhD thesis in the Department of Biochemistry. Dr. Boehm’s thesis was entitled “The regulation of translesion synthesis through binding and activation of polymerases by PCNA.” Elizabeth received her PhD in June 2016 and is currently […]

Highlights of the 8th Annual Biochemistry Retreat

The Department of Biochemistry held their 8th Annual Retreat on August, 26, 2017, in the Pomerantz Center on the University of Iowa Campus. The retreat featured talks by Brittany Ripley (Graduate Student-Washington Lab), Pamela Geyer (Professor), Adam Rauckhorst (Postdoc.-Taylor Lab), and Maria Spies (Professor) and 32 poster presentations. It was exciting to learn about all […]

Congrats Summer 2017 Biochemistry PhD Graduates!

Jennifer Bays, a Biochemistry PhD student mentored by Dr. Kris DeMali, received a PhD on August 4, 2017. Jen’s thesis is entitled, ” Mechanisms of E-cadherin Mechanotransduction”. Jen has accepted a postdoctoral position with Dr. Chris Chen at Boston University.       John Brogie, a Biochemistry PhD student mentored by Dr. David Price, recieved […]