Diabetes Research Center Laboratory Websites

The Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center has over 90 faculty actively conducting diabetes research.  Click a faculty's name below to learn more about their role in diabetes research.

Abel, E. Dale, MD, PhD

Professor
Internal Medicine - Endocrinology and Metabolism
 drcadmin@uiowa.edu
Abramoff, Michael, MD, PhD

Professor
Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
michael-abramoff@uiowa.edu
Adams, Christopher, MD, PhD

Professor
Internal Medicine  - Endocrinology and Metabolism
christopher-adams@uiowa.edu
Anderson, Ethan, PhD

Associate Professor
Pharmaceutics and Translational Therapeutics
ethan-anderson@uiowa.edu 
Anderson, Michael, MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
michael-g-anderson@uiowa.edu
Ankrum, James, PhD 

Assistant Professor
Biomedical Engineering
james-ankrum@uiowa.edu 
Arnold, Mark, PhD  

Professor
Chemistry
mark-arnold@uiowa.edu
Bao, Wei, MD, PhD  

Visiting Assistant Professor
Epidemiology
wei-bao@uiowa.edu
Bates, Melissa, PhD  

Assistant Professor
Human Physiology
melissa-bates@uiowa.edu
Baumbach, Gary, MD   

Professor
Pathology -Anatomic Pathology
 g-baumbach@uiowa.edu  
Bishop, Gail, PhD

Professor
Microbiology
gail-bishop@uiowa.edu
Boudreau, Ryan, PhD

Associate of Internal Medicine
Internal Medicine  - Pulmonary
ryan-boudreau@uiowa.edu
Brenner, Charles, PhD

Professor
Biochemistry
charles-brenner@uiowa.edu
Burns, Trudy, MPH, PhD, FAHA

Professor
Epidemiology
trudy-burns@uiowa.edu
Carr, Lucas, PhD

Assistant Professor
Health and Human Physiology
lucas-carr@uiowa.edu
Casey, Darren, PhD

Assistant Professor
Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science
darren-casey@uiowa.edu
Chapleau, Mark, PhD

Professor
Internal Medicine -Cardiovascular Medicine 
mark-chapleau@uiowa.edu
Cui, Huxing, PhD

Assistant Professor
Pharmacology
huxing-cui@uiowa.edu
Daack-Hirsch, Sandra, PhD, RN

Associate Professor
Nursing
sandra-daack-hirsch@uiowa.edu
Davies, Brandon, PhD

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry
brandon-davies@uiowa.edu
Engelhardt, John, PhD

Professor
Anatomy and Cell Biology
john-engelhardt@uiowa.edu
Faraci, Frank, PhD

Professor
Internal Medicine -Cardiovascular Medicine
frank-faraci@uiowa.edu
Fritzsch, Bernd, PhD

Professor
Biology
bernd-fritzsch@uiowa.edu
Grobe, Justin, PhD

Assistant Professor
Pharmacology
justin-grobe@uiowa.edu
Grueter, Chad, PhD

Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine  - Cardiovascular Medicine
chad-grueter@uiowa.edu
Grumbach, Isabella, MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Internal Medicine  - Cardiovascular Medicine
isabella-grumbach@uiowa.edu
Imai, Yumi, MD

Associate Professor
Internal Medicine  - Endocrinology and Metabolism
yumi-imai@uiowa.edu 
Irani, Kaikobad, MD 

Professor
Internal Medicine  - Cardiology
kaikobad-irani@uiowa.edu
Janz, Kathleen, EdD

Professor
Health and Human Physiology
kathleen-janz@uiowa.edu
Johnson, Kim, BS, MA, BA, PhD

Professor
Psychology
alan-johnson@uiowa.edu
Kardon, Randy, MD, PhD

Professor
Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
randy-kardon@uiowa.edu
Kerns, Robert, PhD

Professor
Medicinal and Natural Products Chemistry
robert-kerns@uiowa.edu
Klingelhutz, Aloysius, PhD

Associate Professor
Microbiology
al-klingelhutz@uiowa.edu
Kwitek, Anne, PhD

Associate Professor
Pharmacology
anne-kwitek@uiowa.edu
Lira, Vitor, PhD

Assistant Professor
Health and Human Physiology
vitor-lira@uiowa.edu
Andrew Norris, MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Pediatrics - Endocrinology and Diabetes
andrew-norris@uiowa.edu
O'Neill, Brian, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine -Endocrinology and Metabolism
brian-oneill@uiowa.edu
Pierce, Gary, PhD

Assistant Professor
Health and Human Physiology
gary-pierce@uiowa.edu
Piper, Robert, PhD

Professor
Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
robert-piper@uiowa.edu 
Polgreen, Linnea, PhD

Assistant Professor
Pharmacology
linnea-polgreen@uiowa.edu
Potthoff, Matthew, PhD

Assistant Professor
Pharmacology
matthew-potthoff@uiowa.edu
Rahmouni, Kamal, PhD

Associate Professor
Pharmacology
kamal-rahmouni@uiowa.edu
Roghair, Robert, MD

Associate Professor
Pediatrics  - Neonatology
robert-roghair@uiowa.edu
Rutkowski, Tom, PhD

Associate Professor
Anatomy and Cell Biology
thomas-rutkowski@uiowa.edu
Sah, Rajan, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine -Cardiovascular Medicine
 rajan-sah@uiowa.edu
Schlievert, Patrick, PhD

Professor and Chair
Microbiology
patrick-schlievert@uiowa.edu 
Sebag, Julien, PhD

Assistant Professor
Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
 julien-sebag@uiowa.edu
Sigmund, Curt, PhD

Professor
Pharmacology
curt-sigmund@uiowa.edu
Slusarski, Diane, BA, BS, BA, PhD

Professor
Biology
diane-slusarski@uiowa.edu
Snyder, Peter, MD

Professor
Internal Medicine  - Cardiovascular Medicine
peter-snyder@uiowa.edu
Sohn, Elliott, MD

Assistant Professor
Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
elliott-sohn@uiowa.edu
Song, Long-Sheng, MD, MS

Associate Professor
Internal Medicine -Cardiovascular Medicine
long-sheng-song@uiowa.edu
Sonka, Milan, PhD

Professor
Electrical & Computer Engineering
milan-sonka@uiowa.edu
Spitz, Douglas, PhD

Professor
Radiation Oncology
douglas-spitz@uiowa.edu
Stephens, Samuel, PhD

Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine -Endocrinology and Metabolism
samuel-b-stephens@uiowa.edu 
Stoltz, David, MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Internal Medicine -Pulmonary, Critical Care and Occupational Medicine
david-stoltz@uiowa.edu 
Strack, Stefan, PhD

Professor
Pharmacology
stefan-strack@uiowa.edu
Taylor, Eric, PhD

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry
eric-taylor@uiowa.edu
Usachev, Yuriy, PhD

Associate Professor
Pharmacology
yuriy-usachev@uiowa.edu  
Welsh, Michael, MD

Professor
Internal Medicine -Pulmonary, Critical Care and Occupational Medicine
michael-welsh@uiowa.edu
Yang, Ling, PhD

Assistant Professor
Anatomy and Cell Biology
ling-yang@uiowa.edu
Yorek, Mark, PhD 

Professor
Internal Medicine  - Endocrinology and Metabolism
mark-yorek@uiowa.edu
Zavazava, Nicholas, MD, PhD

Professor
Internal Medicine - Immunology
nicholas-zavazava@uiowa.edu
Zingman, Leonid, MD

Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine  - Cardiovascular Medicine
leonid-zingman@uiowa.edu