Committee of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Carver College of Medicine, University of Iowa

November 2021

Goals:

- 1) To enhance Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the Department by discussing and implementing recruitment, support, education and retention action plans;
- 2) To make the Department more accessible, accepting, and supportive of underrepresented minority (URM) scientists at every level.

Meeting format and frequency: Two meetings per semester either in person or through Zoom

Members (One-year term): 14 total

Undergraduate students:

- Olivia Foreman (third year student)
- Lauren Fergus (third year student)
- Eileen Murray (fourth year student)

Graduate students:

- Shea Lowery (Perlman Lab)
- Andrea Sánchez Peña (URM, Limoli Lab)
- Brianna Steiert (Weber lab)

Staff:

- Ute Muh, PhD (Ellermeier Lab)
- Alison Haugo-Crooks (Roller Lab)
- Theresa Ho, PhD (Ellermeier Lab, Director of M&I DEI)

Faculty:

- Jon Houtman, PhD (Associate Professor)
- Lilliana Radoshevich, PhD (Assistant Professor)
- Al Klingelhutz, PhD (Professor)
- Jessica Tucker, PhD (Assistant Professor)
- Li Wu, PhD (Professor, Department Chair)