

## For Immediate Release

Contact:
Cathy Szmurlo
Manager, Communications
cszmurlo@abpn.com
(847) 229-6536

## AMERICAN BOARD OF PSYCHIATRY AND NEUROLOGY ANNOUNCES 2018 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

*January 10, 2018, Buffalo Grove, Illinois* --- The <u>American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc.</u> (ABPN) announces its 2018 Board of Directors. The board's term runs from January through December 2018.



George A. Keepers, MD, is the 2018 Chair of the ABPN. Dr. Keepers is the Carruthers Professor and Chair of the Department of Psychiatry at Oregon Health and Science University in Portland, Oregon. He is a Distinguished Life Fellow of the APA and a Fellow of the American College of Psychiatry and serves on the College's Board of Regents. Dr. Keepers' earliest research interests included the psychopharmacological treatments of schizophrenia and side effects of these treatments, acute extra-pyramidal side effects (dystonia, akathisia and parkinsonism), tardive dyskinesia, and other aspects of neuropsychiatry and neuropsychopharmacology. His current clinical and research interests continue to be in the field of neuropsychiatry. A former program director, his contribution to psychiatric education continues through his participation in the

ACGME Psychiatry RRC (of which he is the immediate past Chair), the ACGME Milestones project, and the ACGME Task Forces revising the Common Program Requirements. Dr. Keepers co-chairs the second Task Force.

As an ABPN Director, Dr. Keepers serves as Board Chair, Chair of the Psychiatry Council and as Chair of ten committees: Bylaws, Nomination for 2019 Officers, Core Competencies, Review Appeals-Psychiatry, Irregular Behavior, Disability Accommodations, International Examination, Certification Examination Combined-Psychiatry, Certification Examination Combined-Basic Neurology and Neuroscience Subcommittee, and Delegates to the RRC-Psychiatry. Dr. Keepers is also Chair of the Task Force on Pool Question Reclassification-Psychiatry. He is a member of committees on Communications, Finance, Investment, and Strategic Planning for the ABPN. Dr. Keepers is also the liaison to the AACDP.

Dr. Keepers succeeds Kerry H. Levin, MD, Chairman of the Department of Neurology at Cleveland Clinic in Cleveland, Ohio, as Chair.



Laurie Gutmann, MD, is the 2018 Vice Chair of the ABPN. Dr. Gutmann is Clinical Professor and Vice Chair of Clinical Research in the Department of Neurology at the Carver College of Medicine, University of Iowa. She is Director of the Myotonic Dystrophy Clinic and involved in the MDA, CMT, and ALS clinics. Dr. Gutmann has had a strong interest throughout her career in education and research, having formerly been a residency program director and clinical neurophysiology fellowship director. She is the current chair of the ACGME Neurology Residency Review Committee and serves as vice chair of the AAN Education Committee. She is a fellow of the AAN and the ANA. Her current research funding includes myotonic dystrophy, ALS, as well as for clinical research education. She is co-PI for NINDS/NIH sponsored Clinical Trials Methodology

Course (website: neurotrials.training) and coinvestigator for an NIH funded longitudinal study of CNS and muscle changes in type 1 myotonic dystrophy. She is a member of the Clinical Coordinating Center for NeuroNEXT (Neurological Network for Experimental Therapeutics – NINDS network), as Director of Site Support and Management and facilitates the Recruitment, Retention and Diversity Committee. She has publications in the areas of neuromuscular disease, stroke, and clinical trial design. Prior to coming to Iowa in 2013, she spent 20 years at West Virginia University

in a variety of roles including Medical Stroke Director and Residency Program Director, with four intervening years as a program officer in the extramural Office of Clinical Research at NINDS/NIH.

As an ABPN Director, Dr. Gutmann serves Board Vice Chair, Chair of the Neurology Council and as Chair of six committees: Review Appeals-Neurology, Strategic Planning, Clinical Neurophysiology Steering, Clinical Neurophysiology Certification and MOC Examination, Neuromuscular Medicine Steering, and Delegates to the RRC-Neurology. She is Vice Chair of committees for Core Competencies, Alternative Pathways Oversight, and Neuromuscular Medicine Certification and MOC Examination. Dr. Gutmann also serves as a member of the Bylaws, Communications, Finance, Investment, Irregular Behavior, and Faculty Innovation in Education Award Committees for the ABPN. She is a member of the Task Force on Pool Question Reclassification-Neurology/Child Neurology. Dr. Gutmann is also the liaison to the AANEM.

Dr. Gutmann succeeds Robert J. Ronis, MD, MHP, Douglas Bond Professor and Chair of Psychiatry at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine and University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center in Cleveland, Ohio, as Vice Chair.

Newly elected to the ABPN 2018 Board of Directors are Robert J. Boland, MD, and Amy Brooks-Kayal, MD.

"The ABPN is indeed very fortunate to have Dr. George Keepers as its Chair and Dr. Laurie Gutmann as its Vice Chair this year," said Larry R. Faulkner, MD, ABPN President and CEO. "Both have been excellent directors of the ABPN for the past seven years and bring a wealth of relevant professional experience to their new roles."

"Likewise, the ABPN is pleased to welcome Drs. Robert Boland and Amy Brooks-Kayal as its newest directors. Drs. Boland and Brooks-Kayal have had distinguished careers as academicians, clinicians, and leaders in their respective disciplines, and the ABPN will benefit greatly from their experiences."

Additional members of the Executive Committee include: Robert N. Golden, MD, Board Secretary; J. Clay Goodman, MD, Board Treasurer; John B. Bodensteiner, MD, Board Member-at-Large; and Paramjit Joshi, MD, Board Member-at-Large.

For the ABPN, the specialties of neurology and psychiatry are represented equally on its board of directors.

In addition to Dr. Keepers, the 2018 ABPN Psychiatry Directors include:

- Joan M. Anzia, MD
- Robert J. Boland, MD
- Josepha A. Cheong, MD
- Robert N. Golden, MD
- Paramjit T. Joshi, MD
- Jeffrey M. Lyness, MD
- Christopher R. Thomas, MD

In addition to Dr. Gutmann, the 2018 ABPN Neurology Directors include:

- Imran I. Ali, MD
- John B. Bodensteiner, MD
- Allison Brashear, MD, MBA
- Amy Brooks-Kayal, MD
- J. Clay Goodman, MD
- Steven L. Lewis, MD
- Nina F. Schor, MD, PhD

The American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc. is a not-for-profit corporation dedicated to serving the public interest and the professions of psychiatry and neurology by promoting excellence in practice through certification and maintenance of certification processes. For more information, please visit our website at abpn.com.