Sushmita Sinha, PhD

Research Assistant Professor of Pathology

Contact Information

Primary Office: 1171 Medical Laboratories
Iowa City, IA 52242


BSc, Biology, Dr. Bhim Rao Ambedkar University
MSc, Biotechnology, Dr. Bhim Rao Ambedkar University
PhD, Sanjay Gandhi Post Graduate Institute of Medical Sciences

Fellow, Microbiology, Sanjay Gandhi Post Graduate Institute of Medical Sciences, Lucknow, India
Fellow, Microbiology, Sanjay Gandhi Post Graduate Institute of Medical Sciences, Lucknow, India

Research Summary

Explore immune-pathological and regulatory mechanisms of autoimmune diseases with particular emphasis on Multiple Sclerosis.


Itani, F. R., Sinha, S., Brate, A. A., Pewe, L. L., Gibson-Corley, K. N., Harty, J. T. & Karandikar, N. J. (2017). Suppression of autoimmune demyelinating disease by preferential stimulation of CNS-specific CD8 T cells using Listeria-encoded neuroantigen. Scientific reports, 7(1), 1519. PMID: 28484224.

Mohiuddin, I. H., Pillai, V., Baughman, E. J., Greenberg, B. M., Frohman, E. M., Crawford, M. P., Sinha, S. & Karandikar, N. J. (2016). Induction of regulatory T-cells from memory T-cells is perturbed during acute exacerbation of multiple sclerosis. Clinical immunology (Orlando, Fla.). PMID: 27154631.

Sinha, S., Crawford, M. P., Ortega, S. B. & Karandikar, N. J. (2015). Multiparameter Flow Cytometric Assays to Quantify Effector and Regulatory T-Cell Function in Multiple Sclerosis. Journal of multiple sclerosis, 2(1). PMID: 26137595.

Sinha, S., Boyden, A. W., Itani, F. R., Crawford, M. P. & Karandikar, N. J. (2015). CD8(+) T-Cells as Immune Regulators of Multiple Sclerosis. Frontiers in immunology, 6, 619. PMID: 26697014.

Cunnusamy, K., Baughman, E. J., Franco, J., Ortega, S. B., Sinha, S., Chaudhary, P., Greenberg, B. M., Frohman, E. M. & Karandikar, N. J. (2014). Disease exacerbation of multiple sclerosis is characterized by loss of terminally differentiated autoregulatory CD8+ T cells. Clinical immunology, 152(1-2), 115-26. PMID: 24657764.

Sinha, S., Cheng, S., Sung, Y. W., McNamara, D. E., Sawaya, M. R., Yeates, T. O. & Bobik, T. A. (2014). Alanine scanning mutagenesis identifies an asparagine-arginine-lysine triad essential to assembly of the shell of the Pdu microcompartment. Journal of molecular biology, 426(12), 2328-45. PMID: 24747050.

Sinha, S., Itani, F. R. & Karandikar, N. J. (2014). Immune regulation of multiple sclerosis by CD8+ T cells. Immunologic research [Epub ahead of print]. PMID: 24845461.

Ayers, C. L., Mendoza, J. P., Sinha, S., Cunnusamy, K., Greenberg, B. M., Frohman, E. M. & Karandikar, N. J. (2013). Modulation of Immune Function Occurs within Hours of Therapy Initiation for Multiple Sclerosis. Clinical Immunology, 147(2), 105-119. PMID: 23578552.

Burrows, G. G., Meza-Romero, R., Huan, J., Sinha, S., Mooney, J. L., Vandenbark, A. A. & Offner, H. (2012). Gilt required for RTL550-CYS-MOG to treat experimental autoimmune encephalomyelitis. Metabolic Brain Disease, 27(2), 143-9. PMID: 22392628.

Offner, H., Sinha, S., Burrows, G. G., Ferro, A. J. & Vandenbark, A. A. (2011). RTL therapy for multiple sclerosis: a Phase I clinical study. Journal of Neuroimmunology, 231(1-2), 7-14. PMID: 20965577.

Sinha, S., Miller, L., Subramanian, S., Burrows, G. G., Vandenbark, A. A. & Offner, H. (2011). RTL551 treatment of EAE reduces CD226 and T-bet expressing CD4+ effector T-cells in the periphery and prevents infiltration of T-bet expressing and IL-17 and IFN-? producing T-cells into the CNS. PLoS One, 6(7), e21868. PMID: 21750737.

Sinha, S., Prasad, K. N., Jain, D., Nyati, K. K., Pradhan, S. & Agrawal, S. (2010). Immunoglobulin IgG Fc-receptor polymorphisms and HLA class II molecules in Guillain-Barré syndrome. Acta Neurologica Scandinavica, 122(1), 21-26. PMID: 20105138.

Nyati, K. K., Prasad, K. N., Verma, A., Singh, A. K., Rizwan, A., Sinha, S., Paliwal, V. K. & Pradhan, S. (2010). Association of TLR4 Asp299Gly and The399Ile polymorphisms with Guillain Barré syndrome in north Indian population. Journal of Neuroimmunology, 218, 116-119. PMID: 19913922.

Sinha, S., Miller, L., Subramanian, S., McCarty, O., Proctor, T., Romero, R. M., Burrows, G. G., Vandenbark, A. A. & Offner, H. (2010). Binding of T cell receptor ligands to antigen presenting cells prevents upregulation of CD11b and inhibits T cell activation and transfer of experimental autoimmune encephalomyelitis. Journal of Neuroimmunology, 225(1-2), 52-61. PMID: 20546940.

Itakura, A., Aslan, J. E., Sinha, S., White-Adams, T. C., Patel, I. A., Vanderbark, A. A., Burrows, G. G., Offner, H. & McCarty, O. J. (2010). Characterization of human platelet binding of recombinant T cell receptor ligand. Journal of Neuroinflammation, 7(75). PMID: 21059245.

Sinha, S., Subramanian, S., Emerson-Webber, A., Lindner, M., Burrows, G. G., Grafe, M., Linington, C., Vandenbark, A. A., Benard, C. C. & Offner, H. (2010). Recombinant TCR ligand reverses clinical signs and CNS damage of EAE induced by recombinant human MOG. Journal of Neuroimmune Pharmacology, 5(2), 231-239. PMID: 19789980.

Jain, D., Prasad, K. N., Sinha, S. & Vishwakarma, A. L. (2009). Cell cycle arrest and apoptosis of epithelial cell line by cytolethal distending toxin positive Campylobacter jejuni. Indian Journal of Medical Research, 129, 418-423. PMID: 19535837.

Sinha, S., Subramanian, S., Miller, L., Proctor, T. M., Roberts, C., Burrows, G. G., Vandenbark, A. A. & Offner, H. (2009). Cytokine switch and bystander suppression of autoimmune responses to multiple antigens in Experimental Autoimmune Encephalomyelitis by a single Recombinant T-Cell receptor Ligand. Journal of Neuroscience, 29(12), 3816-3823. PMID: 19321778.

Offner, H., Sinha, S., Wang, C., Burrows, G. G. & Vandenbark, A. A. (2008). Recombinant T cell Receptor Ligands: immunomodulatory, neuroprotective and neuroregenerative effects suggests application as therapy for multiple sclerosis. Reviews in Neurosciences, 19, 327-339.

Jain, D., Prasad, K. N., Sinha, S. & Husain, N. (2008). Differences in virulence attributes between cytolethal distending toxin positive and negative Campylobacter jejuni strains. Journal of Medical Microbiology, 57, 267-272. PMID: 18287287.

Sinha, S., Kaler, L. J., Proctor, T. M., Teuscher, C., Vandenbark, A. A. & Hoffner, H. (2008). IL-13-mediated gender difference in susceptibility to autoimmune encephalomyelitis. Journal of Immunology, 180(4), 2679-2685. PMID: 18250480.

Sinha, S., Prasad, K. N., Jain, D., Pandey, C. M., Jha, S. & Pradham, S. (2007). Preceding infections and anti-ganglioside antibodies in patients with Guillain-Barré syndrome: a single centre prospective case-control study. Clinical Microbiology and Infection, 13(3), 334-7. PMID: 17391394.

Sinha, S., Subramanian, S., Proctor, T. M., Kaler, L. J., Grafe, M., Dahan, R., Huan, J., Vandenbark, A. A., Burrows, G. G. & Offner, H. (2007). A promising therapeutic approach for multiple sclerosis: Recombinant T-Cell Receptor Ligands modulate experimental autoimmune encephalomyelitis by reducing interleukin-17 production and inhibiting migration of encephalitogenic cells into the CNS. Journal of Neuroscience, 27(46), 12531-12539. PMID: 18003831.

Jain, D., Sinha, S., Prasad, K. N. & Pandey, C. M. (2005). Campylobacter species and drug resistance in a north Indian rural community. Transactions of the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, 99, 207-214. PMID: 15653123.

Sinha, S., Prasad, K. N., Pradhan, S., Jain, D. & Jha, S. (2004). Detection of Campylobacter infection by PCR in patients with Guillain-Barré syndrome. Transactions of the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, 98, 342. PMID: 15099989.