Justin L. Grobe, PhD, Assistant Professor in the Department of Pharmacology, was named as the 2017 recipient of the Arthur C. Guyton Award from the American Physiological Society.
Pharmacology professors Stefan Strack, PhD, and Yuriy Usachev, PhD, were named the John Paul Long Professor of Pharmacology.
Yujia (Jenny) Liu, graduate student in Pharmacology working in the laboratory of Dr. Stefan Strack, was awarded an American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship. The two-year award that began on January 1, 2017 is entitled “Interplay Between AKAP1-scaffolded Calcineurin and PKA in Mitochondrial...
Justin L. Grobe, PhD, Assistant Professor of the Department of Pharmacology, with the collaboration of Dr. Rahmouni's laboratory, has been awarded a 5-year $1.9 million National Institutes of Health (NHLBI) R01 Research Grant entitled "Interaction between leptin and angiotensin in the pathogenesis...
Graduate students in Pharmacology and Molecular and Cellular Biology receive awards/fellowship.
Magdalene Ameka, a graduate student in Dr. Matt Potthoff’s laboratory won the People’s Choice Award at the 3 Minute Thesis Competition of the UI Graduate College.
Kathleen Markan, PhD, Postdoctoral Research Scholar, has been awarded a 4-year National Institute of Health (NIH) K01 Mentored Research Scientist Development Award entitled "A Novel Mechanism to Increase the Beiging of White Adipose Tissue."
Kristin E. Claflin completed her graduate work in the Grobe laboratory, graduating with her PhD in December 2016. Her thesis title was "The Brain Renin-Angiotensin System in Metabolic and Cardiovascular Regulation". Kristin’s dissertation work focused on the role of angiotensin AT1 receptors within...
This October, the distinguished Dr. Robert Lefkowitz from Duke University joined the long list of preeminent scientists chosen by Pharmacology graduate students to present the Michael J. Brody Lecture.
Magdalene Ameka, a graduate student in Dr. Matt Potthoff's laboratory, was selected as one of 16 finalists for the 3 Minute Thesis Competition.