Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

National Leadership

Stephan Arndt, PhD 

  • Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Substance Abuse Treatment, Prevention, and Policy
  • Data Safety Management Board, National Institute of Mental Health

James Beeghly, MD

  • ECT Task Force, National Network of Depression Centers 

Donald Black, MD

  • President, American Academy of Clinical Psychiatrists
  • Editor-in-Chief, Annals of Clinical Psychiatry, Scientific American Psychiatry

Wayne Bowers, PhD

  • Co-Chair, Research-Practice Special Interest Group, Academy of Eating Disorders 
  • Editorial board, Eating Disorders: The Journal of Treatment and Prevention 

William Coryell, MD

  • Executive Committee, National Network of Depression Centers (NNDC)
  • Board of Directors, NNDC
  • Scientific Advisory Council, American Foundation for Suicide Prevention
  • DSM 5 Internalizing Review Committee
  • Editorial boards: Annals of Clinical Psychiatry, Comprehensive Psychiatry, Bipolar Disorders, Merck Manual--Mood Disorders, Up-To-Date-Depressive Disorders

Jess Fiedorowicz, MD, PhD

  • Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Psychosomatic Research 
  • Psychopharmacologic Drugs Advisory Committee member,  Food and Drug Administration
  • Editorial boards:  Annals of Clinical Psychiatry, General Hospital Psychiatry, and Journal of Affective Disorders

Michael Flaum, MD

  • President, American Association of Community Psychiatrists

Laura Fuller, PhD

  • Board,  Lives in the Balance

Kim Hart, PhD

  • Editorial Board, Family Process


Samuel Kuperman, MD

  • Associate Editor, Journal of Studies on Alcohol and Drugs

Douglas Langbehn, MD, PhD

  • Associate Editor, Journal of Huntington’s Disease

Jeff Long, PhD

  • Data Safety Monitoring Board, National Institutes of Health Rapidly-Acting Treatments for Treatment-Resistant Depression (RAPID)

Jane Paulsen, PhD

  • Neurocognitive Workgroup, DSM-5

Gen Shinozaki, MD

  • Field Editor, Psychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences 

Hanna Stevens, MD, PhD

  • Advisory Board, National Neuroscience Curriculum Initiative, Klingenstein Third Generation Foundation
  • Editor, Frontiers in Psychiatry

Scott Temple, PhD

  • Associate Editor for Psychotherapy, Scientific American Psychiatry

Douglas Whiteside, PhD

  • Chair, Student Affairs Committee, American Academy of Clinical Neuropsychology 
  • Chair, Practice Written Examination Revision Committee, Association of Postdoctoral Programs in Clinical Neuropsychology         
  • Chair, Awards Committee, Society for Clinical Neuropsychology- Division 40
  • Presidential Advisory Team for Tony Puente, American Psychological Association
  • Editorial Board, The Clinical Neuropsychologist