A Q&A with self-described "New Girl" and new research assistant Emily Shaw

Wednesday, January 13, 2016

 

Emily Shaw joined us as a new research assistant this fall. Find out more about her with this Q&A.
Click here to read a profile article about Shaw.

By Emmy Szymanski

Question: What are some of your favorite hobbies?
Emily Shaw: I love doing anything related to Harry Potter, whether that means watching one of the movies or reading the books. Also, I am a big fan of doing yoga. 

Emily and Zoe
Emily Shaw and Zooey Deschanel 
(image via digimag/flickr)

Q: If you could be any book or movie character, which would you be?
ES: Originally I thought I’d like to be Rachel from “Friends” (I’m currently re-watching the show and I think she’s very funny), but now I’m thinking Jess from “New Girl.”

Q: What is the best thing about living in Iowa City?
ES: The food, but especially the restaurant Shorts.

Q: What is something that you’ve always wanted to do but haven’t been able to yet?
ES: I would love to go on a big road trip, probably somewhere out west and just hit whatever comes my way. I’ve traveled in Europe before but haven’t done anything to that extent, and I think it would be a lot of fun.

Q: Is there one thing about yourself that people may not know?
ES: Well, I like to watch this show on Cartoon Network called “Adventure Time.” It’s essentially a show for teenage boys but I started to watch it as a way to bond with my best friend and we’ve been watching it ever since.

Q: What is your ultimate dream job?
dogs
Shaw's dream job: dog walker (image via Pixabay)ES (without a moment of hesitation): I would love to be a dog walker. I live in an apartment that doesn’t allow dogs, so especially now I would love to spend time just walking around with dogs!

Q: If you could live in any country, which would it be?
ES: Without a doubt, Scotland. I had spent two days there while I was studying abroad (checking out all of the local Harry Potter sites!), and everyone was super nice and friendly. So that is my impression after only two days and I’m going to keep it!

Q: If your friends were going to describe you in one word, which word would that be?
ES: They would definitely say that I’m friendly.

Q: If you were stuck on an island, what would be the two things that you would have with you?
ES: A cozy blanket and a friend.

Q: What is your idea of a perfect vacation?
ES: I would say being somewhere warm, probably on a beach, and just being lazy.

Q: What is your favorite movie or book?
ES: I’d have to say that the third Harry Potter book (“Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban”) is my favorite. I really like the character Remus Lupin, and that’s the first book where we’re introduced to him.

Q: When you were growing up, what did you want to be most?
ES: All throughout high school, I really wanted to be a nutritionist.

Otter smallest
Shaw's favorite animal, 
the otter (image via Pixabay)

Q: Do you have any pets? A favorite animal?
ES: I don’t have any pets yet, but I really want a dog. And otters are my favorite animal.

Q: What is your favorite joke? 
ES (NOTE: The following joke is a pun, and is formatted a bit differently by being written down): 
Person 1: “Yesterday I bowled a three hundred and one!”
Person 2: “What!? That’s impossible the highest you can bowl is a three hundred!”
Person 1: “Well, you can’t bowl a three hundred and LOSE!”
(Three hundred and one versus three hundred and won)