2024 Carver College of Medicine Commencement Ceremony Guide

Date: Thursday, May 2, 2024


Graduates of the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine and their families and friends celebrated the college’s spring commencement ceremonies in May 2024. Share your photos and memories on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter using the hashtags #IowaMD2024 and #UIGrad2024.


"I wanted to stay here for residency because I loved learning from my mentors and working with this resident group, so to get to be a part of this team is something I’m also really looking forward to."

"For me, being able to be with someone at that low point and offer help, hope, or comfort is almost a sacred experience, and I am grateful that I will get the opportunity to do that so much as a physician."

"The hospital is not somewhere people generally want to be. What I really like about anesthesia is that it's actively trying to make that experience better and providing comfort in any way that we can."

The Class of 2024 by the numbers

Doctor of Medicine: 140 graduates, including 5 graduates in the Medical Scientist Training Program (MD/PhD)  

  • 79 males, 61 females 

  • 30% will train in Iowa (see match summary 

  • 8 first-generation graduates  

  • 11 graduating with dual degrees (includes MSTP)  

  • 80 completed a distinction track  

Masters in Medical Education: 5 graduates   

Master of Clinical Anatomy: 3 graduates 

Master of Clinical Nutrition: 9 graduates  

Nuclear Medicine Technology Bachelor of Science: 8 graduates  

Radiation Sciences Bachelor of Science: 41 graduates 

Graduate College Doctoral Programs: 

  • Biomedical Sciences PhD: 11 graduates 

  • Genetics: 1 graduate 

  • Immunology: 3 graduates 

  • Neuroscience: 2 graduates 

  • Biochemistry and Molecular Biology: 1 graduate 

Four students in their ceremonial robes walk down a sunny hallway in Hancher Auditorium. One gives a thumbs-up to the camera.
One MD candidate smiles as she receives her doctoral hood.





A group of new physicians recite the Hippocratic Oath.
New graduates of the college pose for a photo holding their diplomas.

Saturday, May 11: Associated Medical Sciences Commencement Ceremony

2 p.m. | Hancher Auditorium 
Ceremony Recording

Associate Provost and Dean Amanda Haertling Thein and Associate Dean David Asprey delivered welcome messages to the students. The keynote speaker was Bruno Policeni, Kenneth L. and Gloria D. Krabbenhoft Chair of Radiology. Mary Jorgensen, Master of Clinical Anatomy candidate, and Alexandra Hodal, Bachelor of Sciences in Nuclear Medicine Technology candidate, were the student speakers. Marc Pizzimenti, associate professor of anatomy and cell biology, delivered the charge to the graduates. Associate Provost and Dean Thein conferred degrees. 

This ceremony recognized students graduating with associated medical sciences degrees from the Carver College of Medicine:  

  • Master of Clinical Anatomy  

  • Master of Clinical Nutrition  

  • Bachelor of Science in Nuclear Medicine Technology  

  • Bachelor of Science in Radiation Sciences 

Friday, May 17: Doctor of Medicine and Master of Medical Education Commencement Ceremony

6:30 p.m. | Hancher Auditorium 
Ceremony Recording 

UI Provost Kevin C. Kregel and Denise Jamieson, vice president for medical affairs and the Tyrone D. Artz Dean of the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine, delivered welcome messages to students. Christopher S. Cooper, senior associate dean for medical education, gave introductory remarks. Benjamin Linden, of Sioux City, Iowa, was the student speaker, and Manish Suneja, clinical professor of internal medicine, provided the commencement address. Jane L. Miller, professor and director of the Master in Medical Education Program, presented the graduates of the Master in Medical Education Program. Graduate Rebecca Bushbaum, of Clermont, Iowa, and 2024 recipient of the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award, administered the Hippocratic Oath. Bradley Haws, associate vice president and chief executive officer, University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics; Christina Taylor, president of the Iowa Medical Society; David Asprey, associate dean for medical education and professional programs; Amal Shibli-Rahhal, associate dean for student affairs; and James Choi, assistant dean for student affairs, also participated in the commencement ceremony.