Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

E. Dale Abel named president-elect of the Endocrine Society

May 2019

It is with great pleasure that we share with you that E. Dale Abel, MD, PhD, was recently elected as the president-elect of the Endocrine Society. His term as president-elect will commence March 20, 2018, and his presidential term will begin on March 20, 2019, for one year.  Dr. Abel credits this high accomplishment in part to the contributions of the FOE whose extraordinary commitment to diabetes research has strengthened his work.

Abel is the first president of the Endocrine Society from the University of Iowa. 

Abel’s appointments at the University of Iowa include: Francois M. Abboud chair and department executive officer, Department of Internal Medicine; director of the Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism; John B. Stokes III chair in diabetes research; and director of the Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center.

With greater than 18,000 active members, the 100-year-old Endocrine Society is the largest global membership organization representing professionals from the field of endocrinology. Endocrinology encompasses all hormonal disorders including diabetes, which represents the endocrine condition that affects most people worldwide. Physicians, scientists, researchers, and educators comprise the majority of the Society’s membership, who come from 122 countries, with 40 percent located outside the United States.

During its distinguished history, many Endocrine Society members have been elected to membership in honorific societies such as the National Academy of Medicine and the National Academy of Sciences. Ten Endocrine Society members have been awarded the prestigious Nobel Prize in Physiology, Medicine or Chemistry, with four going to Society presidents: Edward Kendall, Edward Doisy, Rosalyn Yalow, and Roger Guillemin.