Administrative Structure

The FOEDRC is governed by a Director who reports to the Dean of the Carver College of Medicine. The Director is advised by an Internal Advisory Committee.  An External Advisory Committee, composed of 3-5 individuals from other institutions, will be established as the Center matures. These appointments are all made by the Dean of the Carver College of Medicine. An administrative staff supports the work of the Director and the two Advisory Committees. Finally, fund raising efforts of the Center are supported by the University of Iowa Foundation.

Director

E. Dale Abel, MD, PhD

Director, Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center

Chair and DEO of Internal Medicince

Director, Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism

Professor of Internal Medicine - Endocrinology and Metabolism

Professor of Biochemistry

dale-abel@uiowa.edu


Associate Director

Andrew Norris, MD, PhD

Associate Director, Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center

Associate Professor of Pediatric Endocrinology and Diabetes

Associate Professor of Biochemistry

andrew-norris@uiowa.edu


Administrative Staff

Daryl K. Granner, MD

Founding Director Emeritus, Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center

FOEDRC Internal Advisory Committee Member

Professor Emeritus, Departments of Internal Medicine and Physiology 

daryl-granner@uiowa.edu

Kathleen Y. Barbee, MEd

Administrative Services Director, Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center

UI Carver College of Medicine

kathleen-barbee@uiowa.edu

Marian Carson

Research Support Coordinator 

UI Carver College of Medicine

marian-carson@uiowa.edu 

Mekenzie L. Edwards

Administrative Services Coordinator

UI Carver College of Medicine

mekenzie-edwards@uiowa.edu