The University of Iowa is one of three regents universities operated by the State of Iowa, a state widely renowned for supporting the highest quality of education for its population. Each of the three state universities provides for superior undergraduate and graduate training, with special educational focuses associated with one of the three institutions to avoid redundancy and thus maximize state support. The University of Iowa, founded in 1847, is a major national research university with a current enrollment of about 28,000 students and a total of approximately 20,000 faculty, staff and support personnel. The University of Iowa was the first public university in the United State to admit women and men on an equal basis, and the student population is now 51% female and 49% male. Currently, the campus has total area of 1900 acres, with 115 major educational buildings. The university has been a leading center of advanced study for over three-quarters of a century. Presently approximately 6,500 students, about 23% of the University enrollment, are in the Graduate College. This unusually high ratio reflects the breadth of the University's graduate programs and resources, the strength of a graduate faculty with a long tradition of personal and professional concern for students, and the opportunities afforded graduate students for involvement, recognition, and support. Since 1983, three University of Iowa graduate students have won the prestigious Council of Graduate Schools national dissertation awards. This award, in recognition of the highest level of achievement, is bestowed on one Ph.D. dissertation per year, alternating between the humanities and the sciences. In 1993, the CGS awarded the prize to Matthew Anderson for his thesis entitled "The Function and Regulation of the Cystic Fibrosis Transmembrane Conductance Regulator". His work was performed in the Cystic Fibrosis Research Center, directed by Dr. Michael Welsh.

Ninety-one percent of The University of Iowa's funding comes from four sources: tuition and fees, state appropriations, indirect costs from grants and contracts, and direct costs from federal grants and contracts. Since 1966, University of Iowa researchers have been awarded $2.15 billion in external funding, and since 1983, federal funding has increased by 93%. The University of Iowa College of Medicine (COM) has had a strong and enduring commitment to fundamental biomedical research for more than three decades. As evidence of this, in fiscal year 1996 it ranked 26th in extramural NIH awards to medical schools and was 13th among public medical schools. In fiscal year 1996-1997, the operating budget of the College of Medicine was $303,733,000, with research grants totaling $122,600,000. For up-to-date information on funding for the College of Medicine, refer to the Fact Sheet.

The College of Medicine. The College of Medicine of the University of Iowa, which was established in 1870, is the only medical school in the state. It employs a full time faculty of 675, 585 of which are in clinical and 90 in basic departments. Recently, the Iowa legislature has committed an initial $27 million toward a new initiative for College of Medicine's comprehensive Health Sciences Campus plan, to meet expanding research space requirements. This project, currently in its first phase, is estimated to cost nearly $111 million by its completion in 2002, and includes the construction of a new Medical Education and Biomedical Research Facility. The generous funding from the state of Iowa will be supplemented by a combination of revenue bonds and private gifts to "Seeking Knowledge for Healing" and other fund-raising campaigns for the College of Medicine ably led by the University of Iowa Foundation. These projects underscore the vision of this state and its people for excellence at the University of Iowa, where they have succeeded in creating an environment compatible with excellence and achievement by its clinical, teaching and research communities.

Awards. In accordance with the "Achieving Distinction" strategic plan formulated in the late 1980s, the University of Iowa has challenged itself to become one of the ten best public research universities in the nation by 2001. Of the honors for scholarly achievement bestowed on the approximately 1803 tenured faculty, as well as students of this institution, there are:

31 Guggenheim Fellows
7 National Science Foundation Young Investigator Awards
17 National Endowment for the Humanities Senior Fellowship winners
3 Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigators
7 National Institutes of Health Merit Awards
13 Pulitzer Prize Winners
18 Rhodes Scholars
3 Council of Graduate Schools National Dissertation Awards

Foundations, Trusts and Gifts. Private gifts to the University, made through the University of Iowa Foundation or directly to the University, average $80-$100 million/year. Over half of the contributions (56%) are designated for "research, departmental, and special projects funds". Several notable gifts have direct bearing on research into identifying disease-causing mutations, the development of gene therapy vectors, study of the pathophysiology of cystic fibrosis, and in gene therapy of cystic fibrosis and other genetic diseases. These are briefly described below:

The Roy J. Carver Trust. The Carver trust has contributed a total of $8,936,967 for research at the University of Iowa since 1992. This includes funds for the recruitment of key new faculty, research programs, major equipment and other resources. Notably, the Carver Trust was a major contributor for the recruitment of Dr. Beverly Davidson and for the establishment of the Gene Transfer Vector Core Facility in 1994, and for the recruitment of Dr. John Engelhardt in 1997. The Carver Trust has also provided almost $1.8 million to support Dr. Michael Welsh's program in gene therapy for cystic fibrosis. In 1996, the Carver Trust supported the founding of the Center for Macular Degeneration in the new Eye Institute of the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics with a $2,000,000 gift to Dr. Edwin Stone. A component of this Center is dedicated to research on gene therapy for eye diseases. In addition, this trust has endowed the Carver Laboratory for the Study of Inherited Diseases, headed by Dr. Val Sheffield, and the Carver Laboratory for Ophthalmic Molecular Diagnosis.

The Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Contributions to the University of Iowa from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute have totaled $4,238,100 since 1992, excluding funds directly awarded to HHMI investigators. Three participants in this center grant, Michael Welsh, Kevin Campbell and Val Sheffield, are Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigators, and receive annual funds to support their research. The College of Medicine received a new $2.4 million grant in 1996 from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute to further support the recruitment of new faculty in the area of molecular biology and to fund a series of initiatives in biomedical research.