Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Faculty and Staff Directory

Aren't sure who to contact?  We'll figure it out for you: Contact Us

Administration

Administration Contact
Christopher Cooper, MD
Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education
christopher-cooper@uiowa.edu 

David Asprey, PhD, PA-C
Associate Dean for Medical Education and Professional Programs
david-asprey@uiowa.edu 

James Choi, MD
Assistant Dean
james-choi@uiowa.edu

Amal Shibli-Rahhal, MD
Assistant Dean
amal-rahhal@uiowa.edu
Jessica Frahm
(319) 335-8278
Jessica-frahm@uiowa.edu 
 
David Etler
(319) 335-8058
david-etler@uiowa.edu

Deb Henricks
(319) 335-6703
debra-henricks@uiowa.edu

Admissions

Admissions Contact

Kathi Muhlenbruck, MA
Director of Admissions

Amy A'Hearn, MS
Assistant Director of Admissions
(319) 335-8057
amy-ahearn@uiowa.edu

Rachel Ahern, BA
Admissions and Enrollment Coordinator
(319) 335-8052
rachel-ahern@uiowa.edu

Megan Kosovski, MA
Admissions and Enrollment Coordinator
(319) 335-6825
megan-kosovski@uiowa.edu

Main phone: (800) 493-7415 or (319) 335-8052
Fax: (319) 335-8049

Deb Henricks
(319) 335-6703
debra-henricks@uiowa.edu

Gwen Hoffmann, BA
(319) 335-9449
gwen-hoffman@uiowa.edu

Medical Student Counseling Center

Medical Student Counseling Center Contact

Doreen Drack Thomas, MA, LMHC, NCC 
Director, Senior Staff Counselor
(319) 335-8056
doreen-thomas@uiowa.edu

David Towle, PhD
Senior Staff Counselor
(319) 335-8056
david-towle@uiowa.edu

Elizabeth Schacht, PhD, ARNP
Senior Staff Counselor
(319) 335-8056
schachte@healthcare.uiowa.edu

Chiawen Moon, MA Ed, LMHC
Senior Behavioral Health Clinician/Learning Specialist
(319) 335-8056
chia-wen-moon@uiowa.edu
 

Scott A. Hansen
Administrative Services Coordinator 
(319) 335-8056


 


Curriculum

Year Management Staff Contact
First year, first semester Carrie Bernat, MA, MSW
Associate Director, Pre-Clinical Curriculum
(319) 335-7641
carrie-bernat@uiowa.edu
Kathy Foss
(319) 335-8006
kathy-foss@uiowa.edu
First year, second semester Laina Edwards, MME
Curriculum Manager
(319) 335-6711
laina-edwards@uiowa.edu 
Kim Crist
(319) 335-6972
kim-crist@uiowa.edu
 
Second year, first semester Billie Ruden, MAed, MME
Curriculum Manager 
(319) 335-8054
billie-ruden@uiowa.edu
Kris Dawkins
(319) 335-7526
kristine-dawkins@uiowa.edu
Performance Based Assessment Ellen Franklin, MA, MBA
Clinical Skills Assessment Manager
(319) 335-6787
ellen-franklin@uiowa.edu

Kate Noonan, MA
Instructional Services Specialist
(319) 384-3027
katherine-noonan@uiowa.edu

Mary Denmead, MS
Instructional Services Coordinator
(319) 353-4292
mary-denmead@uiowa.edu

Clinical curriculum, Ambulatory Practice Module Hugh Hansen, MS
Associate Director, Clinical Curriculum
(319) 335-7691
hugh-hansen@uiowa.edu
Dana Hartman
(319) 335-6824
dana-hartman@uiowa.edu

Learning Communities

Community Community Leadership Contact
All

Samantha Ziemba, BS
Learning Communities Coordinator
(319) 384-1725
samantha-ziemba@uiowa.edu

 
Bean Michael Haugsdal, MD
Paul Van Heukelom, MD
Community Co-Directors
(319) 335-9825 

Carrie Bernat, MA, MSW
Community Manager
(319) 335-7641
carrie-bernat@uiowa.edu
Kathy Foss
(319) 335-8006
kathy-foss@uiowa.edu
Boulware Katie Iverson, PA-C
Ben E. Reinking, MD
Community Co-directors
(319) 335-7587

Billie Ruden, MAed, MME
Community Manager
(319) 335-8054
billie-ruden@uiowa.edu
Kris Dawkins
(319) 335-7526
kristine-dawkins@uiowa.edu
Flocks David Swanson, MD
Catherine DeGeeter, MD
Community Co-directors
(319) 335-9631

Ellen Franklin, MA, MBA
Community Manager
(319) 335-6787
ellen-franklin@uiowa.edu  
Dana Hartman
(319) 335-6824
dana-hartman@uiowa.edu
McCowen Teri Thomsen, MD, JD
Ajay Patel, MD
Community Co-directors
(319) 335-7953
 
Laina Edwards, MME
Community Manager
(319) 335-6711
laina-edwards@uiowa.edu 
Kim Crist
(319) 335-6972
kim-crist@uiowa.edu
 

Financial Services

Financial Services Contact
Linda G. Bissell, BA
Director of Financial Services
(319) 335-8059
linda-bissell@uiowa.edu 

Chris Roling, BME
Assistant Director of Financial Services
(319) 353-3092
chris-roling@uiowa.edu
Linda Birkhofer
(319) 335-8059
linda-birkhofer@uiowa.edu

Global Programs

Global Programs Contact
Robin Paetzold, MBA
Director of Global Programs
(319) 353-5762

Erin Mullins, MA
Special Projects Coordinator
(319) 335-8573
erin-mullins@uiowa.edu
Gwen Hoffmann
(319) 335-9449
gwen-hoffmann@uiowa.edu

Medical Student Research Program

Medical Student Research Program Contact
Robert Roghair, MD
Director, Medical Student Research Program

Erin Mullins, MA
Special Projects Coordinator
(319) 335-8573
erin-mullins@uiowa.edu  
Gwen Hoffmann
(319) 335-9449
gwen-hoffmann@uiowa.edu

Registrar

Registrar Contact

Matthew Edwards, M.Ed.
Registrar
matthew-c-edwards@uiowa.edu
(319) 335-8046
 

MD Verification / Licensure:
CCOM-Registrar@uiowa.edu

MD Clerkship Scheduling:
CCOM-Reg-Schedules@uiowa.edu

Marcia Hopp
(319) 335-8053
marcia-hopp@uiowa.edu 

Annette Griffin
(319) 335-6823
annette-griffin@uiowa.edu

Joan Smothers, MS
(319) 335-2587
joan-smothers@uiowa.edu

 


Writing Program

Writing Program Contact
Cate Dicharry, MFA
Writing Program Director
(319) 335-8051
cate-dicharry@uiowa.edu  
David Etler
(319) 335-8058
david-etler@uiowa.edu