Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Distinguished Mentor Award and Lecture

The Daryl and Nancy Granner Distinguished Mentor Award honors an outstanding mentor of the Carver College of Medicine.  Awardees are distinguished faculty who have served a significant portion of their career at Iowa and whose mentees have gone on to distinguished careers of their own.  Awardees are also known for their collegiality, dedication to their profession, and the advancement of the Carver College of Medicine and the University of Iowa.  The annual award celebration includes a Distinguished Mentor’s Lecture given by an eminent scholar.

2022 Daryl and Nancy Granner Distinguished Mentor Award Celebration

The 2022 Distinguished Mentor Award Celebration will be held on Tuesday, September 6, 2022 at 3:00pm in the Prem Sahai Auditorium (1110A MERF). 

Distinguished Mentor Awardee:  Peggy C. Nopoulos, MD

Dr. Nopoulos is Professor and Chair of our Department of Psychiatry.  She is nationally and internationally recognized for her pioneering research in relating brain structure to cognitive function and behavior including in schizophrenia and in young people at risk for Huntington's disease.  She is widely recognized for her commitment to and excellence in education.  Dr. Nopoulos is an exceptional mentor whose mentees have gone on to distinguished careers of their own.  She has an outstanding record of selflessly mentoring students, post-doctoral trainees, and faculty.

Distinguished Mentor Lecturer:  Abraham Verghese, MD


Dr. Verghese is Professor of the Theory and Practice of Medicine and Internal Medicine at Stanford University Medical School.  He is the author of three best-selling books, two autobiographies, My Own Country and The Tennis Partner, and one novel, Cutting for Stone.  Dr. Verghese is widely recognized for his focus on humanity in medicine.  His writing and work have explored the importance of bedside medicine, the physical examination, and human interactions in the era of advanced technology.


Past Distinguished Mentor Awardees and Lecturers:

  Awardee Lecturer
2021 Donald D. Heistad, MD David J. Skorton, MD
2019 Edward F. Bell, MD Richard S. Finkel, MD
2018 Mary E. Wilson, MD Peter Hotez, MD, PhD
2017 Robert G. Robinson, MD Eve E. Marder, PhD
2016 John E. Donelson, PhD Thomas R. Cech, PhD
2015 M. Sue O'Dorisio, MD, PhD Robert A. Weinberg, PhD
2014 Peter Densen, MD Bonnie L. Bassler, PhD
2013 Allyn L. Mark, MD Bruce M. Spiegelman, PhD
2012 Michael A. Apicella, MD David M. Oshinsky, PhD
2011 David P. Wacker, PhD Huda Y. Zoghbi, MD
2010 Bruce J. Gantz, MD David J. Julius, PhD
2009 Ignacio Ponseti, MD
Stuart L. Weinstein, MD
David M. Kingsley, PhD
2008 Arthur A. Spector, MD Jeffrey M. Friedman, MD, PhD
2007 Gary W. Hunninghake, MD Anthony S. Fauci, MD
2006 François M. Abboud, MD Robert J. Lefkowitz, MD
2005 Kevin P. Campbell, PhD Eric R. Kandel, MD
2004 Jeffrey C. Murray, MD Mary-Claire King, PhD
2003 Michael J. Welsh, MD Günter Blobel, MD, PhD
2002 James A. Clifton, MD Stephen O'Rahilly, MD

Nominations for the Distinguished Mentor Award:

Candidates for the Distinguished Mentor Award should be outstanding mentors whose mentees have gone on to distinguished careers of their own.  Candidates should have spent a significant portion of their career at Iowa.  Candidates may include: a) Mentors who have finished their active careers or achieved emeritus status, or b) Senior active faculty who have already made a substantial impact in the training of individuals who have gone on to success as independent faculty members.  Candidates should be known for their collegiality, dedication to their profession, and the betterment of the Carver College of Medicine and the University of Iowa.

UI Carver College of Medicine faculty, staff and alumni may submit nominations.  Complete nominations should include: a letter outlining the rationale for the nomination, the nominee's curriculum vitae, a list of former trainees, and up to ten supporting letters from colleagues and former trainees.

Nominations remain active for three years.  Nominators may update previous nominations that are still active.  Please submit nominations online.  Questions may be directed to Sonya Housholder. Due to the pandemic and consequent rescheduling of the 2020 celebration, we will not be selecting an awardee for 2021 year.  Individuals are welcome to nominate candidates for the 2022 award instead. 

The deadline for the 2022 Distinguished Mentor Award nominations: August 13, 2021.


The Distinguished Mentor Award and Distinguished Mentor's Lecture are made possible through a generous gift from Daryl Granner, 58BA, 62MS, 62MD, and Nancy Granner, 58BA.  Dr. Granner is a Distinguished Almunus, Professor Emeritus, and Founding Director, Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center, UI Carver College of Medicine.