Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Distinguished Biomedical Scholars Lecture Series

The Distinguished Biomedical Scholars Lecture Series features top-tier scientists and physicians performing high-impact research in a variety of areas.

Most lectures will be held on the third Thursday of each month beginning in September. The seminars will be of broad interest and are open to all University of Iowa faculty, staff, students and the public. A list of previous speakers is located here. Some seminars are recorded and can be viewed by University of Iowa faculty, staff and students online. 

UI Carver College of Medicine departments, institutes, centers, and programs may nominate speakers at here under CCOM Distinguished Biomedical Scholar Lecture Nominations. Questions should be directed to Erin Brothers or Amber Jackson-Elwer @ com-research@uiowa.edu

Lectures are held in person.


2024 Schedule

Beth Stevens, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Neurology,
Harvard Medical School
HHMI Investigator

"Mapping Microglia States to Function in Development & Disease"

Co-Sponsored by the Department of  Neuroscience and Pharmacology
Faculty Host: Ted Abel, PhD,
Student Co-host: Ben Kelvington

Thursday, March 21, 2024
Time: 4:00pm
Location: Prem Sahai Auditorium (1110A MERF)

Zhijian ‘James’ Chen, Ph.D. 

Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
George L. MacGregor Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science
Director, Inflammation Research Center
Professor, Department of Molecular Biology
Professor, Center for the Genetics of Host Defense
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

"DNA Immunity – From Human to Bacteria"

Co-Sponsored by the Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Host: Li Wu, PhD

Thursday, May 16, 2024
Time: 4:00 - 5:00 pm 
Location: BSB Auditorium 1 - Beisner

2024 Open Schedule Dates:
April 18, 2024
September 19, 2024
October 17, 2024 (Tentative)
November 14, 2024