Toggle Search

Distinguished Biomedical Scholars Lecture Series

The Distinguished Biomedical Scholars Lecture Series features top-tier scientists and physicians performing high-impact research in a variety of areas.

Most Lectures, with few exceptions, will be held on the third Thursday of each month beginning in September. The seminars will be of broad interest and are open to all University of Iowa faculty, staff, students and the public. A list of previous speakers is located here.  A printer-friendly seminar schedule for 2016-2017 is PDF iconhereMost seminars are recorded and can be viewed by University of Iowa faculty, staff and students online. 

UI Carver College of Medicine departments, institutes, centers, and programs may nominate speakers at under CCOM Distinguished Biomedical Scholar Lecture Nominations. 

2016-2017 Schedule


Synthetic Biology: Learning to Talk to and Program Cells

Wendell Lim, PhD
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Professor and Chair, Department of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology
Director, University of California San Francisco Center for Systems and Synthetic Biology
Co-Sponsored by the Department of Microbiology Michael A. Apicella Endowed Lecture and the Department of Biochemistry

Thursday, September 15, 2016
4:00-5:00 pm
Prem Sahai Auditorium (1110 MERF) 


Seven Transmembrane Receptors

Robert Lefkowitz, MD 
2012 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
James B. Duke Professor of Medicine
Professor of Pathology and Biochemistry
Duke University School of Medicine
Co-Sponsored by the Department of Pharmacology Michael J. Brody Memorial Lecture

Wednesday, October 5, 2016
1:00-2:00 pm
Prem Sahai Auditorium (1110 MERF)


Discovery of a Novel Class of Mammalian Lipids with Anti-Diabetic and Anti-Inflammatory Effects

Barbara Kahn, MD
Vice Chair of Research Strategy, Department of Medicine, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
George R. Minot Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Senior Associate Member, the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard
Co-Sponsored by the Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center

Thursday, November 17, 2016
Prem Sahai Auditorium (1110 MERF) 



Carl June, MD
Director, Translational Research Program
Richard W. Vague Professor in Immunotherapy
Abramson Family Cancer Research Institute
University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine
Co-Sponsored by the Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center

Thursday, March 9, 2017
Prem Sahai Auditorium (1110 MERF)



Christine Seidman, MD
Thomas W. Smith Professor in Medicine and Genetics
Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women's Hospital
Co-Sponsored by the Abboud Cardivascular Research Center

Thursday, March 30, 2017
Time TBD
Prem Sahai Auditorium (1110 MERF)




Doris Tsao, PhD
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Professor of Biology
California Institute of Technology
Co-Sponsored by the Department of Neurology and the Ramon and Victoria Lim Medical Science Lecture

Monday, May 1, 2017
12:30-1:30 pm
Prem Sahai Auditorium (1110 MERF)