Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Advanced Practice Clinician of the Year Award

This award is given to an advanced practice provider that most embodies those aspects of a truly great patient service provider, including technical skill, humanism to patients and families, collaboration with colleagues, and advocacy.


2023 Winner

Nicole Miller, PA-C, Urology
Nicole Miller, PA-C, exemplifies and surpasses the core qualities for this recognition. Miller possesses unmatched attention to detail, a strong work ethic, humanism to patients, exceptional technical skills, and an ability to collaborate with colleagues on multiple levels. She tirelessly assists with robotic surgeries, and her unparalleled technical skills help provide exceptional care and outcomes for some of our most complicated surgeries. On a collaborative front, Miller has helped train a half dozen advanced practice providers and more than 30 residents on how to best operate as a bedside assistant for robotic surgeries.

2022 Winner

Sara Kraus, ARNP, DNP, FNP-BC

Sara supports the complex pulmonary clinics including interstitial lung disease, COPD and lung cancer screening clinic. She single-handedly runs the bulk of the lung cancer screening clinic using nuances of complex decision-making process. Sara also has made it possible for this clinic to provide advanced therapies in the treatment of patients with asthma and COPD. We are now able to offer biological therapies which have revolutionized the care of patients with poorly controlled asthma; these patients need to be evaluated for medical appropriateness and insurance coverage. Sara is primarily responsible for oversight of the care of the patients our clinic has deemed appropriate for biologic therapies.