Patient Satisfaction and Service Excellence Award

This award is given to an individual or team in recognition of outstanding patient satisfaction. Metrics can include Press Ganey Satisfaction Score, most improved score, and/or other patient feedback.

20182017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011

2018 Winner

Kelly Skelly, MD, Family Medicine

Kelly Skelly personifies patient satisfaction and service excellence. She consistently leads the department in patient satisfaction scores. Her Press Ganey scores are exemplary and her patients’ comments detail her compassion and commitment to their health and well-being. She leads by example with her clinical care and service to the department. Her self-deprecating attitude, sense of humor, and wisdom complements her great talents as a physician, educator, mentor, and colleague. 

2017 Winner

Melinda Seering, MD, Anesthesia

Melinda Seering was appointed clinical director of Ambulatory Surgery Center (ASC) in 2015. With her leadership, ASC patient satisfaction scores have remained consistently high. For example, patients rate the ASC at the 85th to 90th percentile in patient communication, both pre‐ and post‐operatively. The ASC is also consistently above the 90th percentile level for the likelihood to recommend the service to others. Pain control after surgery is another important factor, and patients consistently rate ASC pain control at the 85th to 90th percentile. Seering has worked to increase ASC accessibility to many departments, including Neurosurgery (spinal cord stimulators, neurostimulator battery changes), Vascular Surgery (vein ligations), Orthopedics (total joints and laminectomies), and Urology. She also has opened the ASC to patients from Labor and Delivery (tubal ligations, cerclages). Seering and the ASC team consistently provide excellent clinical care that both patients and their doctors recognize and appreciate.

2016 Winner

Gwen Beck, MD, Internal Medicine

2015 Winner

Veronika Kolder, MD

Clinical Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

2014 Winner

Charles Clark, MD

Dr. Michael Bonfigilo Professor in Orthopaedics

2013 Winner

Janet Schlechte, MD

Professor of Internal Medicine

The loyalty and devotion that Dr. Janet Schlechte’s patients profess for her is gratifying and enduring. She has been and continues to be one the Department of Internal Medicine’s top performers, scoring in the 99th percentile nationally on patient satisfaction scores. In her recent role as interim director for the Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism, her enthusiasm for service excellence has had an effect on her faculty and, notably, has not diminished with her many additional administrative responsibilities. 

2012 Winner

Kelly Ward, MD

Clinical Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Dr. Kelly Ward exemplifies the qualities of outstanding patient service. She is consistently mentioned in weekly patient satisfaction reports for her sincerity and genuine ability to make each patient a priority, even during her off-clinic hours.

Kelly Ward

2011 Winner

Marlan Hansen, MD

Assistant Professor of Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery

Dr. Marlan Hansen is a highly skilled and hardworking physician and surgeon who is always eager to help others, especially his patients. Watching him in the operating room is similar to watching the delicate fingerlings of a virtuoso violinist, as he dissects tumor from cranial nerves. Dr. Hansen's patience, teaching and dedication to his patients make him an excellent model for future academic physicians.

Marlan Hansen