Faculty Careers

Pain Management Clinic

The University of Iowa Department of Anesthesia dates its origins back to 1915, when the first formal anesthesia residency program was instituted at an American university.  Since its inception, the department has educated and trained more than 400 anesthesiologists.  Eighteen former anesthesia residents have served as heads of departments at U.S. medical colleges.

Departmental faculty serve on editorial boards of major anesthesia journals, provide refresher courses for the American Society of Anesthesiologists annual meeting, and serve as board examiners for the American Board of Anesthesiology.  Several departmental physician-researchers are recognized by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) as independently funded principal investigators.

For information on available faculty positions, please contact:

Cynthia Wong, MD, Department Chair and DEO
Department of Anesthesia, University of Iowa
200 Hawkins Drive, 6618 JCP
Iowa City, IA 52242-1079
Phone (319) 356-3868
E-mail: cynthia-wong@uiowa.edu