Ann Smith, CRNA, is named Chief CRNA for the Department, the first woman to hold the post.

  • 2005

    Infant mannequins added to patient simulator program.


    Christina Spofford, MD, PhD, becomes the first woman in the Department to earn a major FAER award.

  • 2010

    Donna Hammond, PhD, is named Executive Dean of Carver College of Medicine.


    Debra Schwinn, MD, is named Dean of the Carver College of Medicine, the first (and, so far, only) woman to serve in the role, and one of only 20 women permanent medical school deans in the U.S. at the time.


    David Kaczka, MD, PhD, researcher focusing on mechanical heterogeneity in respiratory system diseases, joins the Department.


    Cynthia Wong, MD, editor and chapter author for the 4th edition Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia, named Department chair, the first woman to lead anesthesia services at the University of Iowa since Dorothy Dimond.


    Randy Loftus, MD, internationally recognized expert in epidemiology of intraoperative bacterial transmission, joins the Department.


    Pain Clinic expands, averaging 250 patient visits and 290 procedures per month.


    Melinda Seering, MD, becomes the first woman medical director of the Ambulatory Surgery Center.