Speakers and Presentations

François M. Abboud, MD

Edith King Pearson Chair of Cardiovascular Research
Chair Emeritus and Professor of Internal Medicine and Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
Founding Director, Cardiovascular Research Center
University of Iowa

"What is a Legacy?" (view full presentation) (view presentation text)

Martin Chalfie, PhD

William R. Kenan, Jr., Professor
Chair, Department of Biological Sciences
Columbia University

Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, 2008

"Mechanosensation and its Modulation in C. elegans" (view presentation)

Justin Grobe, PhD, FAHA

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
University of Iowa

Abboud Cardiovascular Center Alumnus

"Divergent Control of Blood Pressure and Metabolism by the Brain Renin-angiotensis System"

Peter Gruber, MD, PhD

Johan L. Ehrenhaft Professor in Cardiothoracic Surgery
Co-Director, Francois M. Abboud Cardiovascular Research Center
University of Iowa

"Introduction/Session Chair"

Chad Grueter, PhD

Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine—Cardiovascular Medicine
University of Iowa

"Mediating Cardiac Transcriptional Regulation of Metabolic Homeostasis" (view presentation)


David Gutterman, MD

Senior Associate Director, Cardiovascular Center
Northwestern Mutual Professor of Cardiology
Medical College of Wisconsin

Abboud Cardiovascular Research Center Alumnus

"The Human Coronary Microcirculation: Small Vessels, Big Impact" (view presentation)

David Harrsion, MD

Betty and Jack Bailey Professor of Medicine
Director, Division of Clinical Pharmacology and Center for Vascular Biology
Vanderbilt University

Abboud Cardiovascular Research Center Alumnus

"A New Cause of Hypertension Linking Oxidation and Inflammation"

Howard Jacob, PhD

Professor of Physiology and Human and Molecular Genetics
Director, Human and Molecular Genetics Center
Warren P. Knowles Chair of Genetics
Medical College of Wisconsin

Abboud Cardiovascular Research Center Alumnus

"It All Started in Iowa: From the CVRC to Helping Change the Practice in Medicine" (view presentation)

Amy Lee, PhD

Assistant Dean for Scientific Affairs, Carver College of Medicine
Associate Professor of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery, and Neurology
University of Iowa

Member, Abboud Cardiovascular Research Center Executive Committee

"Macromolecular Distinctions Between L-type Ca2+ Channels in the Brain and Heart" (view presentation)

Barry London, MD, PhD

Professor and Director of Cardiovasculary Medicine
Potter Lambert Chair in Internal Medicine
Co-Director, Francois M. Abboud Cardiovascular Research Center
University of Iowa

"Introduction/Session Chair" (view presentation)

Patrick Most, MD

Professor of Medicine and Molecular and Translational Cardiology
Center for Molecular and Translational Cardiology
University of Heidelberg

"International Partner Meeting Discussion" (view presentation)

Debra A. Schwinn, MD

Dean, Carver College of Medicine
Professor of Anesthesia, Pharmacology and Biochemistry
University of Iowa

"Welcome and Introduction of Dr. Martin Chalfie" (view presentation)

​Virend K. Somers, MD, PhD

Professor of Medicine
Consultant in Cardiovascular Diseases
Mayo Clinic College of Medicine

Abboud Cardiovascular Research Center Alumnus

"Sleep Deprivation and Cardiometabolic Dysregulation—Does Sleeping Less Make you Fat?" (view presentation)

Michael J. Welsh, MD

Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator

Director, Cystic Fibrosis Research Center and Pappajohn Biomedical Institute
Roy J. Carver Biomedical Research Chair
Professor of Medicine, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, and Neurosurgery
University of Iowa

Abboud Cardiovascular Center Executive Committee

"Comments on Abboud Cardiovascular Research Center" (view presentation)

Jing-Wei Xiong, PhD

Professor and Head, Laboratory of Cardiovascular Development
Institute of Molecular Medicine
Peking University

"Using Model Organisms to Approach Heart Regeneration" (view presentation)

Irving H. Zucker, PhD

Theodore F. Hubbard Professor of Cardiovascular Research
Chair, Department of Cellular and Integrative Physiology
University of Nebraska Medical Center

Former President of the American Physiological Society

"Cardiac Sympathetic Afferents in Heart Failure: It's Not Just About the Pain" (view presentation)