Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Diabetes Research Center Laboratory Websites

The Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center has over 90 faculty actively conducting diabetes research.  Click a faculty's name below to learn more about their role in diabetes research.

Abel, E. Dale, MD, PhD

Professor
Internal Medicine - Endocrinology and Metabolism
 drcadmin@uiowa.edu
Abramoff, Michael, MD, PhD

Professor
Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
michael-abramoff@uiowa.edu
Adams, Christopher, MD, PhD

Professor
Internal Medicine  - Endocrinology and Metabolism
christopher-adams@uiowa.edu
Ahmad, Ferhaan small

Ahmad, Ferhaan, MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Internal Medicine -Cardiovascular Medicine, Radiology
ferhaan-ahmad@uiowa.edu

Anderson, Ethan, PhD

Associate Professor
Pharmaceutics and Translational Therapeutics
ethan-anderson@uiowa.edu 
Anderson, Michael, MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
michael-g-anderson@uiowa.edu
Ankrum, James, PhD 

Assistant Professor
Biomedical Engineering
james-ankrum@uiowa.edu 
Arnold, Mark, PhD  

Professor
Chemistry
mark-arnold@uiowa.edu
Bao, Wei, MD, PhD  

Visiting Assistant Professor
Epidemiology
wei-bao@uiowa.edu
Bates, Melissa, PhD  

Assistant Professor
Human Physiology
melissa-bates@uiowa.edu
Baumbach, Gary, MD   

Professor
Pathology -Anatomic Pathology
 g-baumbach@uiowa.edu  
Bishop, Gail, PhD

Professor
Microbiology
gail-bishop@uiowa.edu

Bodine, Sue

Professor
Internal Medicine -Endocrinology and Metabolism
sue-bodine@uiowa.edu

Boudreau, Ryan, PhD

Associate of Internal Medicine
Internal Medicine  - Pulmonary
ryan-boudreau@uiowa.edu
Brenner, Charles, PhD

Professor
Biochemistry
charles-brenner@uiowa.edu
Burns, Trudy, MPH, PhD, FAHA

Professor
Epidemiology
trudy-burns@uiowa.edu
Carr, Lucas, PhD

Assistant Professor
Health and Human Physiology
lucas-carr@uiowa.edu
Casey, Darren, PhD

Assistant Professor
Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science
darren-casey@uiowa.edu
Chapleau, Mark, PhD

Professor
Internal Medicine -Cardiovascular Medicine 
mark-chapleau@uiowa.edu

Chen, Songhai, MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Pharmacology & Internal Medicine
songhai-chen@uiowa.edu

Cui, Huxing, PhD

Assistant Professor
Pharmacology
huxing-cui@uiowa.edu
Daack-Hirsch, Sandra, PhD, RN

Associate Professor
Nursing
sandra-daack-hirsch@uiowa.edu
Davies, Brandon, PhD

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry
brandon-davies@uiowa.edu

Dayal, Sanjana, PhD

Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine -Hematology, Oncology and Blood & Marrow Transplantation
sanjana-dayal@uiowa.edu

Engelhardt, John, PhD

Professor
Anatomy and Cell Biology
john-engelhardt@uiowa.edu
Faraci, Frank, PhD

Professor
Internal Medicine -Cardiovascular Medicine
frank-faraci@uiowa.edu

Frisvold, David, PhD

Associate Professor
Economics
david-frisvold@uiowa.edu

Fritzsch, Bernd, PhD

Professor
Biology
bernd-fritzsch@uiowa.edu

Gibson-Corley, Katherine, DVM, PhD

Associate Professor
Pathology
katherine-gibson-corley@uiowa.edu

Grobe, Justin, PhD

Assistant Professor
Pharmacology
justin-grobe@uiowa.edu
Grueter, Chad, PhD

Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine  - Cardiovascular Medicine
chad-grueter@uiowa.edu
Grumbach, Isabella, MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Internal Medicine  - Cardiovascular Medicine
isabella-grumbach@uiowa.edu

Harata, N. Charles, MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
charles-harata@uiowa.edu

Imai, Yumi, MD

Associate Professor
Internal Medicine  - Endocrinology and Metabolism
yumi-imai@uiowa.edu 
Irani, Kaikobad, MD 

Professor
Internal Medicine  - Cardiology
kaikobad-irani@uiowa.edu
Janz, Kathleen, EdD

Professor
Health and Human Physiology
kathleen-janz@uiowa.edu
Johnson, Kim, BS, MA, BA, PhD

Professor
Psychology
alan-johnson@uiowa.edu
Kardon, Randy, MD, PhD

Professor
Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
randy-kardon@uiowa.edu
Kerns, Robert, PhD

Professor
Medicinal and Natural Products Chemistry
robert-kerns@uiowa.edu
Klingelhutz, Aloysius, PhD

Associate Professor
Microbiology
al-klingelhutz@uiowa.edu
Kwitek, Anne, PhD

Associate Professor
Pharmacology
anne-kwitek@uiowa.edu

Lamping Kathryn, PhD

Associate Professor
Internal Medicine -Cardiovascular Medicine
kathryn-lamping@uiowa.edu

Lira, Vitor, PhD

Assistant Professor
Health and Human Physiology
vitor-lira@uiowa.edu
Norris, Andrew, MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Pediatrics - Endocrinology and Diabetes
andrew-norris@uiowa.edu

Oltman, Christine, PhD

Assoc Research Scientist/Engin
Internal Medicine -Cardiology
christine-oltman@uiowa.edu

O'Neill, Brian, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine -Endocrinology and Metabolism
brian-oneill@uiowa.edu
Pierce, Gary, PhD

Assistant Professor
Health and Human Physiology
gary-pierce@uiowa.edu
Piper, Robert, PhD

Professor
Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
robert-piper@uiowa.edu 
Polgreen, Linnea, PhD

Assistant Professor
Pharmacology
linnea-polgreen@uiowa.edu
Potthoff, Matthew, PhD

Assistant Professor
Pharmacology
matthew-potthoff@uiowa.edu
Rahmouni, Kamal, PhD

Associate Professor
Pharmacology
kamal-rahmouni@uiowa.edu
Roghair, Robert, MD

Associate Professor
Pediatrics  - Neonatology
robert-roghair@uiowa.edu
Rutkowski, Tom, PhD

Associate Professor
Anatomy and Cell Biology
thomas-rutkowski@uiowa.edu

Sabharwal, Rasna, PhD, FAHA

Research Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine -Cardiovascular Medicine
rasna-sabharwal@uiowa.edu

Schlievert, Patrick, PhD

Professor and Chair
Microbiology
patrick-schlievert@uiowa.edu 
Sebag, Julien, PhD

Assistant Professor
Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
 julien-sebag@uiowa.edu

Segre, Alberto, PhD

Professor
Computer Science
alberto-segre@uiowa.edu

Slusarski, Diane, BA, BS, BA, PhD

Professor
Biology
diane-slusarski@uiowa.edu

Snetselaar, Linda, RD, PhD

Professor
Epidemiology
linda-snetselaar@uiowa.edu

Snyder, Peter, MD

Professor
Internal Medicine  - Cardiovascular Medicine
peter-snyder@uiowa.edu
Sohn, Elliott, MD

Assistant Professor
Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
elliott-sohn@uiowa.edu
Song, Long-Sheng, MD, MS

Associate Professor
Internal Medicine -Cardiovascular Medicine
long-sheng-song@uiowa.edu
Sonka, Milan, PhD

Professor
Electrical & Computer Engineering
milan-sonka@uiowa.edu
Spitz, Douglas, PhD

Professor
Radiation Oncology
douglas-spitz@uiowa.edu
Stephens, Samuel, PhD

Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine -Endocrinology and Metabolism
samuel-b-stephens@uiowa.edu 
Stoltz, David, MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Internal Medicine -Pulmonary, Critical Care and Occupational Medicine
david-stoltz@uiowa.edu 
Strack, Stefan, PhD

Professor
Pharmacology
stefan-strack@uiowa.edu
Taylor, Eric, PhD

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry
eric-taylor@uiowa.edu
Usachev, Yuriy, PhD

Associate Professor
Pharmacology
yuriy-usachev@uiowa.edu  

Vikram, Ajit, PhD

Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine -Cardiovascular Medicine
ajit-vikram@uiowa.edu

Wallace, Andrea, PhD, RN

Assistant Professor
Nursing
andrea-wallace@uiowa.edu

Welsh, Michael, MD

Professor
Internal Medicine -Pulmonary, Critical Care and Occupational Medicine
michael-welsh@uiowa.edu
Yang, Ling, PhD

Assistant Professor
Anatomy and Cell Biology
ling-yang@uiowa.edu
Yorek, Mark, PhD 

Professor
Internal Medicine  - Endocrinology and Metabolism
mark-yorek@uiowa.edu

Zepeda-Orozco, Diana, MD

Clinical Associate Professor
Pediatrics -Nephrology, Dialysis and Transplantation
diana-zepeda-orozco@uiowa.edu

Zingman, Leonid, MD

Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine  - Cardiovascular Medicine
leonid-zingman@uiowa.edu