Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Diabetes Research Center Laboratory Websites

The Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center has over 90 faculty actively conducting diabetes research.  Click a faculty's name below to learn more about their role in diabetes research.

Abboud, Francois, MD

Professor
Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine 
Molecular Physiology and Biophysics

Abel, E. Dale, MD, PhD

Professor
Internal Medicine - Endocrinology and Metabolism
drcadmin@uiowa.edu
Abramoff, Michael, MD, PhD

Professor
Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
michael-abramoff@uiowa.edu
Adams, Christopher, MD, PhD

Professor
Internal Medicine  - Endocrinology and Metabolism
christopher-adams@uiowa.edu
Ahmad, Ferhaan small

Ahmad, Ferhaan, MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Internal Medicine -Cardiovascular Medicine, Radiology
ferhaan-ahmad@uiowa.edu

Anderson, Ethan, PhD

Associate Professor
Pharmaceutics and Translational Therapeutics
ethan-anderson@uiowa.edu 
Anderson, Michael, MD, PhD

Professor
Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
michael-g-anderson@uiowa.edu
Ankrum, James, PhD 

Associate Professor
Biomedical Engineering
james-ankrum@uiowa.edu 
Arnold, Mark, PhD  

Professor
Chemistry
mark-arnold@uiowa.edu

Atasoy, Deniz, PhD

Assistant Professor
Neuroscience and Pharmacology
deniz-atasoy@uiowa.edu

Bates, Melissa, PhD  

Assistant Professor
Health and Human Physiology
melissa-bates@uiowa.edu

Benson, Christopher, MD

Professor
Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine and Neuroscience and Pharmacology
chris-benson@uiowa.edu

Bishop, Gail, PhD

Professor
Microbiology and Immunology 
gail-bishop@uiowa.edu
Boudreau, Ryan, PhD

Associate Professor 
Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine
ryan-boudreau@uiowa.edu
Carr, Lucas, PhD

Associate Professor
Health and Human Physiology
lucas-carr@uiowa.edu
Casey, Darren, PhD

AssociateProfessor
Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science
darren-casey@uiowa.edu
Chapleau, Mark, PhD

Professor
Internal Medicine -Cardiovascular Medicine 
mark-chapleau@uiowa.edu

Chen, Songhai, MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Neuroscience and Pharmacology 
songhai-chen@uiowa.edu

Cui, Huxing, PhD

Assistant Professor
Neuroscience and Pharmacology
huxing-cui@uiowa.edu
Davies, Brandon, PhD

Associate Professor
Biochemistry
brandon-davies@uiowa.edu

Dayal, Sanjana, PhD

Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine -Hematology, Oncology and Blood & Marrow Transplantation
sanjana-dayal@uiowa.edu

Engelhardt, John, PhD

Professor
Anatomy and Cell Biology
john-engelhardt@uiowa.edu
Faraci, Frank, PhD

Professor
Internal Medicine -Cardiovascular Medicine
frank-faraci@uiowa.edu

Frisvold, David, PhD

Associate Professor
Economics
david-frisvold@uiowa.edu

Fritzsch, Bernd, PhD

Professor
Biology
bernd-fritzsch@uiowa.edu

Gibson-Corley, Katherine, DVM, PhD

Associate Professor
Pathology
katherine-gibson-corley@uiowa.edu

Grueter, Chad, PhD

AssociateProfessor
Internal Medicine  - Cardiovascular Medicine
chad-grueter@uiowa.edu
Grumbach, Isabella, MD, PhD

Professor
Internal Medicine  - Cardiovascular Medicine
isabella-grumbach@uiowa.edu
Imai, Yumi, MD

Associate Professor
Internal Medicine  - Endocrinology and Metabolism
yumi-imai@uiowa.edu 

Ince, M. Nedim N., MD

Clinical Associate Professor
Internal Medicine - Gastroenterology and Hepatology
m-nedim-ince@uiowa.edu

Irani, Kaikobad, MD 

Professor
Internal Medicine  - Cardiology
Radiation Oncology 
kaikobad-irani@uiowa.edu
Janz, Kathleen, EdD

Professor Emeritus 
Health and Human Physiology
kathleen-janz@uiowa.edu
Johnson, Kim, BS, MA, BA, PhD

Professor
Psychological and Brain Sciences
alan-johnson@uiowa.edu
Kerns, Robert, PhD

Professor
Pharmaceutical Sciences and Experimental Therapeutics
robert-kerns@uiowa.edu

Lamping Kathryn, PhD

Emeritus Associate Professor
Internal Medicine -Cardiovascular Medicine
kathryn-lamping@uiowa.edu

Lira, Vitor, PhD

Associate Professor
Health and Human Physiology
vitor-lira@uiowa.edu

Mangalam, Ashutosh, PhD 

Associate Professor
Pathology
ashutosh-mangalam@uiowa.edu

Mokadem, Mohamad, MD

Assistant Professor 
Internal Medicine - Gastroenterology and Hepatology
mohamad-mokadem@uiowa.edu

Nizar, Jonathan, MD

Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine - Nephrology
jonathan-nizar@uiowa.edu

Norris, Andrew, MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Pediatrics - Endocrinology and Diabetes
andrew-norris@uiowa.edu
O'Neill, Brian, MD, PhD

Professor
Pediatrics -Endocrinology and Metabolism
brian-oneill@uiowa.edu
Pierce, Gary, PhD

Associate Professor
Health and Human Physiology
gary-pierce@uiowa.edu
Piper, Robert, PhD

Professor
Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
robert-piper@uiowa.edu 
Potthoff, Matthew, PhD

Associate Professor
Pharmacology
matthew-potthoff@uiowa.edu
Rahmouni, Kamal, PhD

Professor
Neuroscience and Pharmacology
kamal-rahmouni@uiowa.edu
Roghair, Robert, MD

Professor
Pediatrics  - Neonatology
robert-roghair@uiowa.edu
Rutkowski, Tom, PhD

Associate Professor
Anatomy and Cell Biology
thomas-rutkowski@uiowa.edu

Sabharwal, Rasna, PhD, FAHA

Research Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine -Cardiovascular Medicine
rasna-sabharwal@uiowa.edu

Sebag, Julien, PhD

Assistant Professor
Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
 julien-sebag@uiowa.edu

Segre, Alberto, PhD

Professor
Computer Science
alberto-segre@uiowa.edu

Sivitz, William, MD

Emeritus Professor 
Internal Medicine - Endocrinology and Metabolism
william-sivitz@uiowa.edu 

Slusarski, Diane, BA, BS, BA, PhD

Professor
Biology
diane-slusarski@uiowa.edu
Snyder, Peter, MD

Professor
Internal Medicine  - Cardiovascular Medicine
Molecular Physiology and Biophysics 
peter-snyder@uiowa.edu
Sohn, Elliott, MD

Associate Professor
Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
elliott-sohn@uiowa.edu
Song, Long-Sheng, MD, MS

Professor
Internal Medicine -Cardiovascular Medicine
long-sheng-song@uiowa.edu
Spitz, Douglas, PhD

Professor
Radiation Oncology
douglas-spitz@uiowa.edu
Stephens, Samuel, PhD

Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine -Endocrinology and Metabolism
samuel-b-stephens@uiowa.edu 
Stoltz, David, MD, PhD

Professor
Internal Medicine -Pulmonary, Critical Care and Occupational Medicine
david-stoltz@uiowa.edu 
Strack, Stefan, PhD

Professor
Neuroscience and Pharmacology
stefan-strack@uiowa.edu

Talbert, Erin, PhD

Assistant Professor
Health and Human Physiology 
erin-talbert@uiowa.edu

Taylor, Eric, PhD

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry
eric-taylor@uiowa.edu
Usachev, Yuriy, PhD

Professor
Neuroscience and Pharmacology
yuriy-usachev@uiowa.edu  
Welsh, Michael, MD

Professor
Internal Medicine -Pulmonary, Critical Care and Occupational Medicine
michael-welsh@uiowa.edu
Yang, Ling, PhD

Associate Professor
Anatomy and Cell Biology
ling-yang@uiowa.edu
Yorek, Mark, PhD 

Professor
Internal Medicine  - Endocrinology and Metabolism
mark-yorek@uiowa.edu

Zingman, Denice, MD 

Professor 
Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine 
denice-zingman@uiowa.edu

Zingman, Leonid, MD

Associate Professor
Internal Medicine  - Cardiovascular Medicine
leonid-zingman@uiowa.edu