Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Mansour F. Armaly Lecture

Dr. ArmalyThe Mansour F. Armaly Lectureship was established in 2004 by a generous gift from Dr. Armaly’s wife Aida, son Fareed, and daughter Raya, a glaucoma specialist to honor an extraordinary clinician-scientist who devoted his career to the study and care of patients with ocular hypertension and glaucoma.

Dr. Armaly was instrumental in defining the natural history of glaucoma, in developing techniques of early detection and monitoring function loss in the eye, and in demonstrating the genetic character of glaucoma.

Armaly was recruited by Dr. Braley in 1958 from the American University in Beirut, Lebanon. As director of the glaucoma service he became internationally known. Dr. Armaly was a distinguished member of the the University of Iowa Department of Ophthalmology faculty from 1958-1970.

He served as Professor and Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at George Washington University in Washington, D.C. from 1970 to 1996. He left the University of Iowa to become Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology at George Washington University in 1970.

More about Dr. Armaly

Armaly Lecturers

  • 2004
    • Robert N. Weinreb, MD
  • 2005
    • David L. Epstein, MD
  • 2006
    • Richard L. Abbott, MD
  • 2007
    • M. Bruce Shields, MD
  • 2008
    • Michael A. Kass, MD
  • 2009
    • Paul Lichter, MD
  • 2010
    • George L. Spaeth, MD
  • 2011
    • Joseph Caprioli, MD
  • 2013
    • David Greenfield, MD 
  • 2014
    • Harry A. Quigley, MD
  • 2015
    • Jost Jonas, MD, PhD
  • 2016
    • Alan S. Crandall, MD
  • 2017
    • Robert Ritch, MD
  • 2018
    • Claude Burgoyne, MD
  • 2019
    • Richard K. Parrish, II, MD
  • 2021
    • Louis R. Pasquale, MD, FARVO
  • 2022
    • Pradeep Ramulu, MD, PhD
  • 2023
    • Mae Gordon, PhD