Faculty recognized for excellence

Two physicians in the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences were recognized for their dedication to service and teaching.

The UI Carver College of Medicine Faculty Service Award acknowledges a faculty member who has made a significant and sustained contribution to the College of Medicine in the area of service. The 2017 award was given to Dr. Edwin Stone, professor ophthalmology and director of the Wynn Institute for Vision Research (WIVR) for his excellent patient care and dedication to teaching and mentoring. Stone is responsible for creation of the WIVR, the John and Marcia Carver Nonprofit Genetic Testing Laboratory, and the Steven W. Dezii Translational Vision Research Facility. He is world-renown for his laboratory’s research into the causes and cures for inherited eye diseases.

Also recognized was residency program director Dr. Thomas Oetting with the University of Iowa’s President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence. Oetting was one of 4 distinguished faculty to receive this year’s award which recognizes outstanding teaching, mentoring, and innovation in education. Oetting is regarded as a national leader in the area of residency education and also editor and co-founder of the EyeRounds.org website. In addition to leading the ophthalmology residency program, he maintains an active clinical practice at UI Hospitals and Clinics and the VA Medical Center.

Congratulations to both Dr. Stone and Dr. Oetting!

Tuesday, April 25, 2017