Ophthalmologists with Iowa ties inducted into ASCRS Hall of Fame

Friday, April 17, 2015

Emeritus chairman and former faculty member, Frederick C. Blodi, MD(deceased), was inducted into the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery Ophthalmology Hall of Fame.

Blodi was a recognized expert in ophthalmic pathology and namesake of the FC Blodi Eye Pathology Laboratory at the University of Iowa. He was also known as an expert diagnostician, accomplished surgeon, and highly-skilled teacher. Blodi joined the department in 1952 as an assistant professor and was named department head in 1967, a position he held until 1984.

Also inducted was Gunter K. von Noorden, MD (‘60R), a former UI faculty member who led a distinguished career in academic medicine.

Von Noorden was a leader in ophthalmology and strabismus surgery for 40 years. He began his career as a resident at the University of Iowa in 1957 and joined the faculty after completing his fellowship. He held positions at Wilmer Eye Institute and Baylor College of Medicine where he retired as a distinguished emeritus professor.

The ASCRS Hall of Fame award honors pioneers whose contributions have shaped the way ophthalmology is practiced. Recipients are chosen by their peers and only 55 ophthalmologists have been inducted since 1999.

More information at: http://www.ascrs.org/awards/ascrs-ophthalmology-hall-fame