Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Resident/Fellowship Research Day

The Annual Resident and Fellow Research Day presentations feature 10-minute presentations of research done by Ophthalmology residents and fellows and usually occur in April or May of each year.

Resident and Fellow Research Day will take place on Friday, May 22, 2020, 9 AM to 12:30 PM

PDF iconAgenda PDF

9:00 AM | Welcome | Ian Han, MD - Meeting Guidelines, Instructions for Questions via Chat, PJ Leinfelder Award Voting


9:10 AM | Paper 1 | Caroline Wilson, MD - Ocular Surface Flora Changes Prior to Cataract Surgery With and Without Pre-operative Antibiotics

9:20 AM | Paper 2 | Anthony Chung, MD - The Effect of Transcranial Direct-Current Stimulation on Microsurgical Simulation Performance

9:30 AM | Paper 3 | David Ramirez, MD - Fibrous Downgrowth Among First-Time Corneal Transplant Recipients

9:40 AM | Paper 4 | Lai “Larry” Jiang, MD - Ocular Cicatricial Pemphigoid: Late Presentations and Systemic Involvement at a Single-Center Academic Practice

9:50 AM | Paper 5 | Christopher Fortenbach, MD, PhD - Metabolic and Proteomic Indications of Diabetes Progression in Human Aqueous Humor


 10:00 AM | Paper 6 | Lauren Hock, MD - Responding to Patient-Initiated Verbal Sexual Harassment: Outcomes of a Novel Workshop for Trainees and Faculty

10:10 AM | Paper 7 | Salma Dawoud, MD - Impact of Educational Campaign on Identification and Referral of Women with Orbital Fractures and Rupture Globes Secondary to Intimate Partner Violence

10:20 AM | Paper 8 | Austin Fox, MD - Visual Outcomes in the Management of Orbital Compartment Syndrome​


10:40 AM | Paper 9 | Brittany Simmons, MD - Markers for Sebaceous Carcinoma: Enhancing Histologic Analysis

10:50 AM | Paper 10 | Matthew Field, MD - Dynamics of Retinoblastoma Progression

11:00 AM | Paper 11 | Benjamin King, MD - Outcomes Following Brachytherapy for Uveal Melanoma: The UIHC Experience


11:10 AM | Paper 12 | Alec Amram, MD - Progressive Neurodegeneration in Macular Telangiectasia Type 2 (MacTel)

11:20 AM | Paper 13 | Nitsan Duvdevan-Strier, MD - How to Diagnose Optic Neuropathy in a Blink!

11:30 AM | Paper 14 | Ana Rubin Panvini, MD - Clinical Features and Course of Eyes with Large Disc Area and Megalopapilla

11:40 AM | Paper 15 | Tyler Quist, MD - Long-Term Follow-Up of Normal Tension Glaucoma Patients with TBK1 Gene Mutation in One Large Pedigree

11:50 AM | Paper 16 | Timothy Boyce, MD - Clinical Spectrum of Autosomal Dominant Neovascular Inflammatory Vitreoretinopathy (ADNIV)

12:00 PM | Paper 17 | Aaron Ricca, MD - Progression of Macular Atrophy and Phenotypic Variability in Autosomal Dominant Stargardt-like Macular Dystrophy Due to PROM1 Genetic Mutation

12:10 PM | Paper 18 | Razek Coussa, MD - Development of Surgical Technique and Instrumentation for Subretinal Implantation of Biodegradable Photoreceptor Cell Delivery Scaffolds

12:20 PM | PJ Leinfelder Award Vote - Iowa Faculty and Alumni


In a time when the rhythm of our daily lives has been disrupted, an unwavering constant at Iowa has been our commitment to patient care, education, and the furthering of knowledge through academic pursuits. Our trainees have been the flag-bearers in each area, remaining resolute on the front lines in providing world-class care for our patients and advancing our field through outstanding research.

Each spring, we come together in celebration of our trainees for a research symposium that remains, in the words of Dr. Michael Wagoner, "the most important day of the year" on our academic calendar.

This year, to adhere to social distancing for the safety of all, our research day will be hosted virtually. While a web-based format can never replace the warmth of each others’ company, it does enable us to share this experience with you, our Iowa family, near or far.

We invite you to join us!

Research topics include:

  • Changes in ocular flora with pre-operative topical antibiotics prior to cataract surgery
  • Fibrous downgrowth in patients with corneal transplants
  • Clinical characteristics of ocular cicatricial pemphigoid
  • Orbital compartment syndrome experience at UIHC
  • Long-term outcomes of uveal melanoma after brachytherapy
  • Clinical features and course in patients with megalopapilla
  • Progressive neurodegeneration in macular telangiectasia type 2
  • And many more!

As per usual, the top resident and fellow projects will be awarded the prestigious PJ Leinfelder Award, and these individuals will join a long list of distinguished winners from past years.

To ensure we have adequate hosting web space, we ask that you please RSVP to joe-schmidt@uiowa.edu by May 11 if you would like to participate. We will provide you with details including a weblink to the virtual meeting.

In case you're wondering what we've done in past years, check out our Past Abstracts and Presentations (below).

For additional information regarding Ophthalmology Resident and Fellow Research Day, contact Ian C. Han, MD: email, ian-han@uiowa.edu 

Past Abstracts and Presentations

The P.J. Leinfelder Award Recognizes resident and fellow physicians who have made significant contributions in preparing and delivering seminars.

The University of Iowa Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences Resident and Fellow Research Program would like to recognize our patrons: The William C. and Dorotha Gaedke Charitable Trust and The Iowa Eye Association for their continued support of resident and fellow research day.

Research at The University of Iowa Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences is supported in part by an unrestricted grant from Research to Prevent Blindness.