UI launches neuroscience honor society chapter, inducts 7 students

Seven University of Iowa undergraduates were inducted into the inaugural class of Nu Rho Psi, the National Honor Society in Neuroscience. Students are selected for membership based on their superior scholarly accomplishments as well as their interest and experience in research.

The new members are:

  • Noelle Amiry, sophomore, neuroscience major from Johnston, IA
  • Erin Golden, junior, neuroscience major from Moline, IL
  • Cameron Keomanivong, senior, neuroscience major from Mount Pleasant, IA
  • Rikki Laser, senior, neuroscience major from Vernon Hills, IL
  • Justin Peterson, senior, neuroscience major from Cedar Falls, IA
  • Arshaq Saleem, a sophomore, neuroscience major from Iowa City
  • Yiwen Wang, senior, biology/neurobiology and psychological and brain sciences major


All students received certificates and lapel pins as an indication of the honor they have earned. The graduating seniors among this group also received honor cords to wear at their commencement ceremonies. The University of Iowa has canceled the May 2020 commencement, but planning is underway for an alternative celebration for graduating Hawkeyes.

In addition to the students, Joshua Weiner, professor of biology and associate director of the Iowa Neuroscience Institute and Ryan LaLumiere, professor of psychological and brain sciences, were inducted as faculty members to administer and advise the UI chapter.

Monday, March 30, 2020