MSTP Administrative Committees

MSTP Committees

Four committees assist in Program direction.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee, chaired by the Director, is responsible for advising the MSTP leadership on all aspects of Program policy and management. Members of the Executive Committee are active and informed MSTP participants who have a broad involvement in educational, research and clinical programs at the University. The Executive Committee meets twice yearly to discuss issues pertinent to the MSTP training, including the evaluation and approval of MSTP faculty appointments, graduate and clinical requirements, and new program initiatives. The Executive Committee has a diverse membership including the Co-Director, the chairs of the Admissions and Recruitment committees, the Associate Dean who oversees the Office of Student Affairs and Curriculum, the Associate Dean for Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, Department Heads, ICTS leadership, and the Director of the Pappajohn Institute for Biomedical Discovery. The MSTP student body elects two students representatives to the Executive Committee, one from the first three years of training and one from latter years. These students provide a trainee’s perspective, provide transparency and facilitate communication between MSTP leadership and trainees in the program.

Admissions Committee

The Admissions Committee is charged with the evaluation of MSTP applications and recruitment of accepted candidates. The committee consists of 24 faculty members, with 1 serving as a representative of the CCOM Medical Admissions Committee. There are 3 MSTP student members. The Admissions Committee broadly represents graduate training opportunities at the U of Iowa. Currently, the committee includes faculty members representing fourteen of the fifteen graduate training programs, of which nine are full professors, eight are associate professors, and seven are assistant professors. The distribution of faculty rank provides an opportunity for exposure of junior faculty laboratories to applicants, while maintaining institutional memory for candidate evaluation. Women represent 38% (9/24) of the Admissions Committee members and underrepresented minority (URM) members represent 8% (2/24). Seven (29%) members of the Admissions Committee are physician-scientists.

Recruitment Committee

The Recruitment Committee is charged with developing and overseeing strategies to advertise the strengths of the U of Iowa MSTP and recruit prospective trainees. The centerpiece of these efforts is our highly successful MSTP Summer Undergraduate MSTP Research Program (SUMR), which draws students nationally to U of Iowa for participation in 10 weeks of biomedical research. SUMR is patterned after the MSTP and provides participants an opportunity to gain insights into MSTP training, highlighting the strengths of our research and clinical enterprises, and the charm of Iowa City. The Recruitment Committee is responsible for other outreach efforts, such as our website, brochure, attendance at national professional development meetings for students (URMs) and partnerships with NIH-funded MARC programs. The membership of the Recruitment Committee includes the Associate Dean for Cultural Affairs and Diversity Initiatives, a Director of the SUMR program, the Faculty Advisor for the Association of Multicultural Scientists, contributing MSTP faculty members and four MSTP students.

IDEA Committee

The Integrating Discovery and Educational Activities (IDEA) Committee, chaired by the Co-Director, is charged with developing activities that enrich student education and emphasize integration between science and medicine during all phases of training. This committee oversees programmatic initiatives such as 1) MSTP-specific small group sections during the first two years of medical school, 2) Conversations in Research for preclinical trainees, encompassing the Creative Communications Workshop, 3) MSTP Grand Rounds, 4) Clinical Connections for students in graduate training, and 5) MSTP-specific summer classes and workshops (e.g. Analyzing and Presenting Medical Research; Building Team Science, Grant Writing 101). These programs emphasize the many ways in which science and medicine intersect. IDEA Committee members includes a faculty liaison for the CCOM preclinical curriculum, the Director of the CCOM Writing and Humanities program, ten MSTP faculty members who lead the enrichment programs and the Chairs of the two student-run MSTP committees (the Retreat and the Seminar committees).

External Advisory Committee

The U of Iowa MSTP benefits from active participation with a network of dedicated and insightful program directors nationwide. We have established an external advisory committee comprised of Robinna Lorenz, MD, PhD, Arthur Gutierrez-Hartman, MD, and Joseph Barbieri, PhD. Dr. Lorenz is a Professor of Pathology and the Director of the MSTP at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. Dr. Lorenz currently is a member of the NIGMS T32 study section, serves on the AAMC GREAT Group MD-PhD Section Communication Committee and is a past Chair of the Steering Committee. Dr. Gutierrez-Hartmann is a Professor of Medicine at the University of Colorado and Director of the Colorado MSTP. He has served in multiple leadership positions in national associations dealing with graduate and physician-scientist training. He has chaired the NIGMS T32 study section and was a founding member and Chair of the National Association of MD-PhD Programs. He also has served as Chair of the AAMC GREAT Group MD-PhD Section Steering Committee and was the inaugural recipient of the American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 2010 Ruth Kirchstein Diversity in Science Award. Dr. Gutierrez-Hartman is well known for his commitment to training of URM students in graduate and medical school. Dr. Barbieri is a Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, and Director of the MSTP at the Medical College of Wisconsin. Dr. Barbieri currently serves on the AAMC GREAT Group MD-PhD Section Steering Committee and is a past Chair of the Steering Committee. He is strongly committed to training future physician-scientists. The most recent meeting of the External Advisory Committee was held in Iowa City on August 24-25, 2014.