Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

New Faculty Appointments

Since 2011, 18 new faculty engaged in obesity research have been recruited (14 official OREI recruits) by departments in the Carver College of Medicine, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, College of Public Health, College of Nursing, and Tippie College of Business. The new faculty listed below have received 10 new R01s and multiple other grants and awards.

Wei Bao, MD, PhD

Wei Bao, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor
Department of Epidemiology
College of Public Health
Research Interests: Life course epidemiology of obesity and diabetes

Email: wei-bao@uiowa.edu

Dr. Barbara Baquero

Barbara Baquero, PhD

Associate Professor
Department of Community and Behavioral Health
College of Public Health
Research Interests: Obesity and chronic disease prevention and control interventions

Email: barbara-baquero@uiowa.edu

Dr. Lucas Carr

Lucas Carr, PhD

Associate Professor
Department of Heath and Human Physiology
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Research Interests: Technology-based approaches to reducing sedentary behaviors,
Socioenvironmental influences of physical activity and sedentary behaviors

Email: lucas-carr@uiowa.edu

Huxing Cui, PhD

Huxing Cui, PhD

Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacology
Carver College of Medicine
Research Interests: Brain control of appetite and metabolism

Email: lucas-carr@uiowa.edu

Brandon Davies, PhD

Brandon Davies, PhD

Assistant Professor
Department of Biochemistry
Carver College of Medicine
Research Interests: The role of endothelial cells in lipid metabolism

Email: brandon-davies@uiowa.edu

Dr. David Frisvold

David Frisvold, PhD

Associate Professor
Department of Economics
Tippie College of Business
Research Interests: Health economics, school-based public policies, food assistance programs, food pricing strategies, soft drink taxes.

Email: david-frisvold@uiowa.edu

Justin L. Grobe, PhD

Justin L. Grobe, PhD

Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacology
Carver College of Medicine
Research Interests: Identify novel therapeutic targets for increasing resting metabolic rate as an alternative or adjunct to conventional therapies

Email: justin-grobe@uiowa.edu

Dr. Ruth Grossmann

Ruth Grossmann, RN, MS, PhD

Assistant Professor
College of Nursing
Research Interests: Nutritional metabolomics of obesity and its treatment

Email: justin-grobe@uiowa.edu

Chad Grueter, PhD

Chad Grueter, PhD

Assistant Professor
Department of Internal Medicine
Carver College of Medicine
Research Interests: Energy homeostatis

Email: chad-grueter@uiowa.edu

Dr. Helena Laroche

Helena Laroche, MD, MS

Assistant Professor
Department of Internal Medicine and Pediatrics
Carver College of Medicine
Research Interests: Family and community approaches to obesity prevention

Email: helena-laroche@uiowa.edu

Vitor Lira, PhD

Vitor Lira, PhD 

Assistant Professor
Department of Health and Human Physiology
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Research Interests: Skeletal muscle biology and its influence in whole-body metabolic homeostasis

Email: vitor-lira@uiowa.edu

Mohamad Mokadem, MD

Mohamad Mokadem, MD

Clinical Associate Professor
Department of Internal Medicine - Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Carver College of Medicine
Research Interests: Understanding the mechanism of energy and metabolic regulation after bariatric surgery in rodents

Email: mohamad-mokadem@uiowa.edu

Matthew J. Potthoff, PhD

Matthew J. Potthoff, PhD

Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacology
Carver College of Medicine
Research Interests: Regulation of metabolic homeostasis

Email: matthew-potthoff@uiowa.edu

Rajan Sah, MD, PhD

Rajan Sah, MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine
Carver College of Medicine
Research Interests: Molecular regulation of muscle metabolism and mass in obesity and diabetes

Email: rajan-sah@uiowa.edu  

Julien Sebag, PhD

Julien Sebag, PhD

Assistant Professor
Molecular Physiology & Biophysics
Carver College of Medicine
Research Interests: Identifying new proteins and pathways involved in the control of energy homeostasis

Email: julien-sebag@uiowa.edu

Eric Taylor, PhD

Eric Taylor, PhD

Associate Professor
Department of Biochemistry
Carver College of Medicine
Research Interests: Molecular mechanisms regulating mitochondrial function and their relationship to disease

Email: eric-taylor@uiowa.edu  

Qian Xiao, PhD

Assistant Professor
Health and Human Physiology
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Research Interests: sleep deficiency, circadian disruption, cardiometabolic health, neighborhood environment, health disparities

Email: qian-xiao@uiowa.edu