Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Behavioral / Population-oreinted

Dr. Barbara Baquero Barbara Baquero, PhD, MPH
Associate Professor of Community and Behavioral Health
barbara-baquero@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Design, implementation, and evaluation of community-based interventions for obesity and chronic disease prevention and control
Trudy Burns, PhD
Professor of Epidemiology
trudy-burns@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Muscatine Study Longitudinal Body Habitus and Adult CV Outcomes
Lucas Carr, PhD
Associate Professor of Health and Human Physiology
lucas-carr@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Behavioral interventions to prevent and treat obesity
Jess Fiedorowicz, MD, PhD
AssociateProfessor of Psychiatry, Internal Medicine, and Epidemiology
jess-fiedorowicz@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Obesity and cardiometabolic disease related to psychiatric disorders and treatments thereof, clinical management of weight and obesity-related complications
A. Kim Johnson, PhD Alan Kim Johnson, PhD
F. Wendell Miller Distinguished Professor of Physiological & Brain Sciences
alan-johnson@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Salt Craving; Obesity-Induced Sensitization of the Hypertensive Response
Helena Laroche, MD
Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine & Pediatrics
helena-laroche@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Community and family approaches to obesity prevention
Jessica Smith, MD
Clinical Associate Professor of Surgery - Gastrointestinal, Minimally invasive and Bariatric Surgery
jessica-k-smith@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Metabolic Effects of Bariatric Surgery and Lean Muscle Mass
Linda Snetselaar, PhD Linda Snetselaar, PhD
Professor and Chair, Preventive Nutrition Education
Associate Provost, Outreach and Engagement
linda-snetselaar@uiowa.edu
Robert Wallace, MD
Professor of Epidemiology
robert-wallace@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Obesity as a risk factor for clinical outcomes/ health status
Qian Xiao, PhD
Assistant Professor of Health and Human Physiology
qian-xiao@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Sleep deficiency, circadian disruption, cardiometabolic health, neighborhood environment, health disparities