Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Neuronal

Ryan Boudreau, PhD
Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine
ryan-boudreau@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Post-transcriptional gene regulation and novel genes in diabetes and obesity
Mark Chapleau, PhD
Professor of Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine & Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
mark-chapleau@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Neural mechanisms in obesity hypertension
Huxing Cui, PhD Huxing Cui, PhD
Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
huxing-cui@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Brain control of appetite, metabolism and cardiovascular function
Jess Fiedorowicz, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Psychiatry, Internal Medicine, and Epidemiology
jess-fiedorowicz@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Obesity and cardiometabolic disease related to psychiatric disorders and treatments thereof, clinical management of weight and obesity-related complications
Justin L. Grobe, PhD Justin Grobe, PhD
Associate Professor of Pharmacology
justin-grobe@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Neural control of cardiometabolic function, and quantifying anaerobic metabolism
A. Kim Johnson, PhD Alan Kim Johnson, PhD
F. Wendell Miller Distinguished Professor of Physiological & Brain Sciences
alan-johnson@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Salt Craving; Obesity-Induced Sensitization of the Hypertensive Response
Allyn Mark, MD Allyn Mark, MD
Professor of Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine
allyn-mark@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Neural and humoral mechanisms of obesity-induced hypertension
Mohamad Mokadem, MD Mohamad Mokadem, MD
Clinical Associate Professor of Internal Medicine - Gastroenterology and Hepatology
mohamad-mokadem@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Understanding the regulatory mechanism of gastric bypass on energy and glucose metabolism
Matthew Potthoff, PhD
Associate Professor of Pharmacology
matthew-potthoff@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Regulation of Nutrient Metabolism and Energy Homeostasis
Kamal Rahmouni, PhD
Professor of Pharmacology & Internal Medicine
kamal-rahmouni@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Neural Control of Metabolism in Health and Disease
Robert Roghair, MD
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
robert-roghair@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Neonatal Origins of Obesity
Julien Sebag, PhD Julien Sebag, PhD
Assistant Professor of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
julien-sebag@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Regulation of energy homeostasis by GPCR accessory proteins
Val Sheffield, MD, PhD
Professor of Pediatrics & Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
val-sheffield@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Intracellular Transport and Cilia function in obesity, hypertension and diabetes
Stefan Strack, PhD
Professor of Pharmacology & Pathology
stefan-strack@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Neurological comorbidities of diabetes
Eric Taylor, PhD Eric Taylor, PhD
Associate Professor of Biochemistry
eric-taylor@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: To discover molecular mechanisms to modulate mitochondrial metabolism to treat human disease
Mark Yorek, PhD
Professor of Internal Medicine - Endocrinology and Metabolism
mark-yorek@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Effect of obesity on vascular and neural complications