Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Nutrition

Christopher Adams, MD, PhD
Professor of Internal Medicine - Endocrinology and Metabolism & Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
christopher-adams@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Anti-obesity effects of skeletal muscle growth
Wei Bao, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology
wei-bao@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Maternal obesity, gestational diabetes, childhood obesity, life course, transgenerational effects, dietary pattern, environmental obesogen, endocrine disruptor
Dr. Barbara Baquero Barbara Baquero, PhD, MPH
Associate Professor of Community and Behavioral Health
barbara-baquero@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Design, implementation, and evaluation of community-based interventions for obesity and chronic disease prevention and control
Charles Brenner, PhD Charles Brenner, PhD
Professor & DEO of Biochemistry, Professor of Internal Medicine
charles-brenner@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Accelerating metabolism with nicotinamide riboside
Vanessa Curtis, MD
Clinical Associate Professor of Pediatrics - Endocrinology and Diabetes
vanessa-curtis@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Clinical pediatric obesity program
Brandon Davies, PhD
Assistant Professor of Biochemistry
brandon-davies@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Regulation of Vascular Triglcyeride Metabolism
Dr. David Frisvold David Frisvold, PhD
Associate Professor of Economics
david-frisvold@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Understanding how policy interventions influence obesity-related behavior
Justin L. Grobe, PhD Justin Grobe, PhD
Associate Professor of Pharmacology
justin-grobe@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Neural control of cardiometabolic function, and quantifying anaerobic metabolism
Dr. Ruth Grossmann Ruth Grossmann, RN, MNHP, PhD
Assistant Professor of Nursing
ruth-grossmann@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Metabolomic and the microbiome analyses in nutrition interventions
Helena Laroche, MD
Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine & Pediatrics
helena-laroche@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Community and family approaches to obesity prevention
Mohamad Mokadem, MD Mohamad Mokadem, MD
Clinical Associate Professor of Internal Medicine - Gastroenterology and Hepatology
mohamad-mokadem@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Understanding the regulatory mechanism of gastric bypass on energy and glucose metabolism
Matthew Potthoff, PhD
Associate Professor of Pharmacology
matthew-potthoff@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Regulation of Nutrient Metabolism and Energy Homeostasis
William Sivitz, MD
Professor of Internal Medicine - Endocrinology and Metabolism
william-sivitz@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Mitochondrial function, Oxidative Stress, and Nutrition
Jessica Smith, MD
Clinical Associate Professor of Surgery - Gastrointestinal, Minimally invasive and Bariatric Surgery
jessica-k-smith@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Metabolic Effects of Bariatric Surgery and Lean Muscle Mass
Linda Snetselaar, PhD Linda Snetselaar, PhD
Professor and Chair, Preventive Nutrition Education
Associate Provost, Outreach and Engagement
linda-snetselaar@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Nutrition Interventions and Behavior Change
Eric Taylor, PhD Eric Taylor, PhD
Associate Professor of Biochemistry
eric-taylor@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: To discover molecular mechanisms to modulate mitochondrial metabolism to treat human disease
Robert Wallace, MD
Professor of Epidemiology
robert-wallace@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Obesity as a risk factor for clinical outcomes/ health status
Leonid Zingman, MD
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine
leonid-zingman@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Skeletal muscle KATP channels determine bodily energy balance