Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Translational / Clinical

Christopher Adams, MD, PhD
Professor of Internal Medicine - Endocrinology and Metabolism & Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
christopher-adams@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Anti-obesity effects of skeletal muscle growth
Dr. Barbara Baquero Barbara Baquero, PhD, MPH
Associate Professor of Community and Behavioral Health
barbara-baquero@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Design, implementation, and evaluation of community-based interventions for obesity and chronic disease prevention and control
Ryan Boudreau, PhD
Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine
ryan-boudreau@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Post-transcriptional gene regulation and novel genes in diabetes and obesity
Charles Brenner, PhD Charles Brenner, PhD
Professor & DEO of Biochemistry, Professor of Internal Medicine
charles-brenner@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Accelerating metabolism with nicotinamide riboside
Trudy Burns, PhD
Professor of Epidemiology
trudy-burns@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Muscatine Study Longitudinal Body Habitus and Adult CV Outcomes
Dr. Lucas Carr Lucas Carr, PhD
Assistant Professor of Health and Human Physiology
lucas-carr@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Behavioral interventions to prevent and treat obesity
Darren Casey, PhD
Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science
darren-casey@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Obesity and Vascular Health
Vanessa Curtis, MD
Clinical Associate Professor of Pediatrics - Endocrinology and Diabetes
vanessa-curtis@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Clinical pediatric obesity program
Jess Fiedorowicz, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Psychiatry, Internal Medicine, and Epidemiology
jess-fiedorowicz@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Obesity and cardiometabolic disease related to psychiatric disorders and treatments thereof, clinical management of weight and obesity-related complications
Dr. Ruth Grossmann Ruth Grossmann, RN, MNHP, PhD
Assistant Professor of Nursing
ruth-grossmann@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Metabolomic and the microbiome analyses in nutrition interventions
Helena Laroche, MD
Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine & Pediatrics
helena-laroche@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Community and family approaches to obesity prevention
Vitor Lira, PhD
Assistant Professor of Health and Human Physiology
vitor-lira@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Skeletal and cardiac muscle function and metabolism
Mohamad Mokadem, MD Mohamad Mokadem, MD
Clinical Associate Professor of Internal Medicine - Gastroenterology and Hepatology
mohamad-mokadem@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Understanding the regulatory mechanism of gastric bypass on energy and glucose metabolism
Peter Nau, MD, MS
Clinical Associate Professor-Bariatric, Gastrointestinal, and Minimally-Invasive Surgeon
peter-nau@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Outcomes in bariatric surgery
Gary Pierce, PhD
Associate Professor of Health and Human Physiology
gary-pierce@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Mechanisms and interventions for vascular dysfunction in human obesity, aging, anxiety, hypertension, prediabetes
Linnea Polgreen, PhD Linnea Polgreen, PhD
Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Science
linnea-polgreen@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Food preferences and encouraging exercise
Matthew Potthoff, PhD
Associate Professor of Pharmacology
matthew-potthoff@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Regulation of Nutrient Metabolism and Energy Homeostasis
Robert Roghair, MD
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
robert-roghair@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Neonatal Origins of Obesity
Isaac Samuel, MD Isaac Samuel, MD, FRCS, FACS
Professor of Surgery - Gastrointestinal, Minimally invasive and Bariatric Surgery
isaac-samuel@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Benefits of weight reduction and metabolic surgery
Patrick Schlievert, PhD
Professor & DEO of Mircobiology, Professor of Internal Medicine
patrick-schlievert@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Bacterial Causes of Diabetes Mellitus II
Thomas Scholz, MD
Professor of Pediatrics - Cardiology
thomas-scholz@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Optimizing Health of Children with Special Health Care Needs
Richard Shields, PT, PhD
Professor & DEO of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science
richard-shields@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Obesity impacts skeletal muscle metabolism in people with disability
William Sivitz, MD
Professor of Internal Medicine - Endocrinology and Metabolism
william-sivitz@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Mitochondrial function, Oxidative Stress, and Nutrition
Jessica Smith, MD
Clinical Associate Professor of Surgery - Gastrointestinal, Minimally invasive and Bariatric Surgery
jessica-k-smith@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Metabolic Effects of Bariatric Surgery and Lean Muscle Mass
Linda Snetselaar, PhD Linda Snetselaar, PhD
Professor and Chair, Preventive Nutrition Education
Associate Provost, Outreach and Engagement
linda-snetselaar@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Nutrition Interventions and Behavior Change
Douglas Spitz, PhD
Professor of Radiation Oncology
douglas-spitz@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Ketogenic diets in cancer therapy
Eric Taylor, PhD Eric Taylor, PhD
Associate Professor of Biochemistry
eric-taylor@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: To discover molecular mechanisms to modulate mitochondrial metabolism to treat human disease
Eva Tsalikian, MD
Professor of Pediatrics - Endocrinology and Diabetes
eva-tsalikian@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Obesity and type 2 diabetes in children and adolescents
Robert Wallace, MD
Professor of Epidemiology
robert-wallace@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Obesity as a risk factor for clinical outcomes/ health status
Ling Yang, PhD
Assistant Professor of Anatomy and Cell Biology
ling-yang@uiowa.edu

Research Interests: Organelle stress response in Obesity