Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

People

Michael Welsh, MD
Principal Investigator
Director, Pappajohn Biomedical Institute
Roy J. Carver Chair in Biomedical Research
Professor of Internal Medicine, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics and Neurosurgery
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute 

6332 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 335-7619
michael-welsh@uiowa.edu

Lokhoy Brecht
Administrative Coordinator—Laboratory

 

6330 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 335-7619
lokhoy-brecht@uiowa.edu

Mahmoud Abou Alaiwa, MD
Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine—Pulmonary, Critical Care and Occupational Medicine

6338 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 353-6239
mahmoud-aboualaiwa@uiowa.edu

My research is focused on the regulation of airway host defenses and centered on two areas: the inhibitory effect of acidic pH on the activity of antimicrobial factors and the in-vivo regulation of mucociliary transport.

Lynda Ostedgaard, PhD
Research Associate Professor of Internal Medicine—Pulmonary, Critical Care and Occupational Medicine

6336 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 335-7574
lynda-ostedgaard@uiowa.edu

My work centers on differences in the structure and conformation of CF and non-CF mucus, and how this impacts CF airway disease.

Christoph Randak, MD
Associate Professor of Pediatrics—Allergy, Immunology and Pulmonary

6336 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 335-6540
christoph-randak@uiowa.edu

Study of the structure and molecular function of CFTR and ABC transporters, with an emphasis on mechanisms, structural basis and role of CFTR adenylate kinase activity.

Tayyab Rehman, MD

Tayyab Rehman, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine—Pulmonary, Critical Care and Occupational Medicine

6310 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 384-1107
tayyab-rehman@uiowa.edu

Anthony (Tony) Fischer, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics—Allergy, Immunology and Pulmonary

6332 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 335-8854
anthony-fischer@uiowa.edu

I study how mucus affects the clearance of particles from airways in cystic fibrosis.

Bo Ram Kim, PhD
Postdoctoral Associate

6332 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 335-7574
boram-kim@uiowa.edu

 

Yuliang Xie, PhD
Postdoctoral Associate

6332 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 335-7574
yuliang-xie@uiowa.edu

My research is focused on developing innovative microfluidic and other micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) to investigate the mechanism, diagnosis and treatment of Cystic Fibrosis.

Ian Thornell, PhD
Postdoctoral Associate

6332 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 335-7619
ian-thornell@uiowa.edu

Cellular, interstitial, and airway surface liquid pH regulation.

Lin Lu (Nemo), PhD
Postdoctoral Associate

6332 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 335-7619
lin-lu-1@uiowa.edu

I currently study the properties of mucus expansion in CF and 
non-CF airway environments.

Wenjie Yu, PhD

Wenjie Yu, PhD
Postdoctoral Associate

6332 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 335-7619
wenjie-yu@uiowa.edu

Mucus secretion and obstruction in airway diseases

Margaret Price
Associate Research Scientist

6332 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 335-7574
margaret-price@uiowa.edu

I am currently interested in understanding the role that Acid Sensing Ion Channels play in learning and memory processes and how these channels contribute to synapse function.

Qian Dong
Assistant Research Scientist

6332 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
qian-dong@uiowa.edu

Using patch clamp and Ussing chamber electrophysiologic techniques to study the ATPase and adenylate kinase activities of CFTR  with the goal of therapeutics to improve CF quality of life

Philip Karp 
Director, In Vitro Culture Core

6332 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 335-7621
philip-karp@uiowa.edu

We provide primary cultured epithelia prepared from fresh airway tissues of CF and non-CF human, pig, and mice donors for research.

Sarah Ernst
Research Associate

6332 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 335-7574
sarah-ernst@uiowa.edu

Ussing chamber studies of ion channel expression in airway epithelia and molecular biology of the CF pig model

Thomas Moninger
Microscopist

85 Eckstein Medical Research Building
(319) 335-8142
thomas-moninger@uiowa.edu

Collection and analysis of data using advanced light and electron imaging techniques.

Janice Launspach, RN
Clinical Research Associate

C33 General Hospital
(319) 356-2047
janice-launspach@uiowa.edu

Taking basic science research to the patients’ bedside

Akshaya Warrier

Akshaya Warrier
Research Intern

6332 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 335-7574
akshaya-warrier@uiowa.edu

Brian Goodell

Brian Goodell
Research Assistant

6332 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
brian-goodell@uiowa.edu

Ping Tan
Research Associate

6429 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 335-7621
ping-tan@uiowa.edu

We provide primary cultured epithelia prepared from fresh airway tissues of CF and non-CF human, pig, and mice donors for research.

Brie Hilkin
Research Associate

6332 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 335-7574
brieanna-barber@uiowa.edu

I study the in vivo regulation of mucociliary transport using a computed tomography (CT) scan-based assay.

Patrick Allen
Research Assistant

patrick-allen@uiowa.edu

I assist in the study of cellular, interstitial, and airway surface liquid pH regulation, and how they impact CF airway disease

Nicholas Sawin
Research Associate

nicholas-sawin@uiowa.edu

I am studying mucus biochemistry.

Zoë Eckstein
Lab Assistant

6332 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
(319) 335-7574
zoe-eckstein@uiowa.edu

Ryan McLain
Lab Assistant

ryan-mclain@uiowa.edu

Reagent preparation, animal care and lab equipment maintenance

Brandon Bettis
Lab Assistant

brandon-bettis@uiowa.edu

Reagent preparation, animal care and lab equipment maintenance