2016-17 Scot Heery Scholarship Recipients Announced

Monday, August 29, 2016

The Department of Radiology announces the recipients of the Scot Heery Scholarships for the 2016-17 academic year. The three applicants whose work ethic and daily commitment to quality patient care most closely aligned with the values and character that Scot Heery portrayed in his distinguished career and expected of Radiation Sciences students are (in alphabetical order):
• Hannah Fink – Radiologic Technology/ MRI
• Kyler Freidhof – Radiologic Technology/CT
• Jamie Klepper – Radiation Therapy

Heery Scholarship recipients
Left to right: Jamie Klepper, Kyler Freidhof, Cheryl Heery (wife of Scot Heery) and Hannah Fink

The funding of these $5000 awards comes from a very generous gift presented to the U of I Foundation in Scot’s name by an anonymous donor. The Scholarship’s Selection Committee, comprised of 7 individuals who knew Scot well, received and reviewed applications from many extremely qualified and deserving students, making the selection process a difficult one. 
Scot Heery, RT(R)(CT), was a Senior Imaging Technologist in the Department of Radiology at The UniverScot Heerysity of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (UIHC).  He worked in the department for over 30 years prior to his passing, with expertise in Computed Tomography and dedication to excellence in patient care.