Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care


Congratulations to Dr. Lucy Wibbenmeyer, MD, for being appointment to the Clara L. Smith Professor in Burn Treatment.
The American College of Surgeons (ACS) awarded University of Iowa Stead Family Children’s Hospital verification as a Level 1 children’s surgery center.
Andrei Odobescu, MD, PhD, clinical assistant professor and microsurgeon spearheads efforts at limb salvage.
Congratulations to Dr. Irdahl for being featured on the ACS website for her work on well-being.
Congratulations to Dr. Dionne Skeete on being named to the Board of Governors of the American College of Surgeons.
Dr. Isaac Samuel, MD and Dr. Carol Scott-Conner, MD, PhD, MBA are U of Iowa Carver College of Medicine Creative Writing contest winner for their work in poetry and creative writing.
The American College of Surgeons Cancer Programs was pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Ingrid Lizarraga to the Commission on Cancer. Dr. Lizarraga also serves as the state CoC Chair for the state of Iowa.
Dr. Garett Steers received first place in the 2021 Cancer Research Paper Competition in the Basic Research category.
Dr. Patrick McGonagill, Clinical Assistant Professor of Surgery – Acute Care Surgery, was recently appointed to serve as Vice Chair of the Committee on Trauma (COT) for the American College of Surgeons Iowa Chapter. Dr. McGonagill is now one of five UIHC faculty serving as members of leadership for...
Medical Student's presentation wins 2021 Medical Student Research Award for Surgery