Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care


Vascular Surgery Nurse Practitioner James Kinney, DNP, ARNP, FNP-BC , has been awarded the 2020-2021 University of Iowa College of Nursing Outstanding Young Alumni Award, as announced by the UI College of Nursing on Dec. 2nd, 2020. The annual award, created in 2018, is to recognize the outstanding...
Dr. Carol Scott-Conner , Professor Emeritus in the UIHC Dept. of Surgery, discusses her own breast cancer diagnosis and treatment after a long career as a breast cancer surgeon in this article from the Cedar Rapids Gazette's HER Magazine.
This article from the Carver College of Medicine discusses the CODA appendicitis trial which compared risks and benefits of treating appendicitis with antibiotics as opposed to surgery. The article features comments by study co-leader Dr. Dionne Skeete, Clinical Professor of Surgery and Director of...
The UIHC Department of Surgery is pleased to announce that Dr. Rachael Nicholson has been selected to serve on the ACGME’s Resident Review Committee for Surgery , for a term of 6 years. The Resident Review Committee serves an important national role in the ACGME’s regular, periodic review of...
In this article in the September edition of the ACS Young Fellows Association E-news, Dr. Ingrid Lizarraga, Clinical Associate Professor of Surgery, describes her role as State Chair to the American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer.
An article published on Sept. 15th in the University of Iowa Injury Prevention Research Center's Injury Blog discusses the work of Department of Surgery staff members Kathy Lee and Colette Galet to study and prevent injury from falls in older adults.
UIHC Dept. of Surgery Clinical Assistant Professor Sharon Beth Larson is cited in this article announcing that the Heart and Vascular Clinic has performed 1000 transcatheter aortic valve replacement (TAVR) procedures.
Dr. Ryan Lehmann has been named Medical Director of 2RCW, effective April 2020. Dr. Lehmann is a Clinical Assistant Professor in the Division of Gastrointestinal, Minimally Invasive & Bariatric Surgery. Dr. Lauren Allan has been named director of the Surgical Critical Care Fellowship, and co- Medical Director of the Surgical and Neurosciences Intensive Care Unit (SNICU), effective July 1, 2020. Dr. Allen is a Clinical Assistant Professor in the Division of Acute Care Surgery.
Dr. Sharon Larson, Clinical Assistant Professor in the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery, was called in to lead the ExtraCorporeal Membrane Oxygenation (ECMO) procedure that was critically necessary to save a 6-month pregnant Waterloo women and her fetus.
The American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN) recently awarded the Silver Beacon Award for Excellence to the UI Hospitals and Clinics Surgical Specialty Unit.