2022 Biochemistry Wittmann and Khorana Award


The Wittmann and Khorana Scholar awards are given to a male and female Biochemistry major, respectively, recognizing their exceptional understanding of biochemistry and its value to society.

Lanchi Nguyen is the winner of the 2022 Professor H.G. Khorana Scholar Award. Lanchi is doing research in Dr. Dona Hammond's lab, studying the effects of nicotinamide riboside on chemotherapy induced peripheral neuropathy. 

Spenser Johnson is the winner of the 2022 Professor H.G. Wittmann Scholar Award. Spenser is doing research in Dr. Douglas Spitz's lab, studying the use of SOD mimetics as an adjuvant therapy to standar of care radio- and chemotherapies in head and neck squamous cell cancer. 

The Professor H.G. Wittmann Scholar and The Professor H.G. Khorana Scholar awards were established in 2013 and are sponsored by Dr. Alap Subramanian. Dr. Subramanian earned his Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the University of Iowa in 1964 studying with Dr. George Kalnitsky. 



Thursday, May 5, 2022