Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Brianna Lupo and Francesca Spencer awarded Montgomery Scholar’s Prizes

Brianna Lupo, who did undergraduate research in the Dr. Catherine Musselman laboratory, and Francesca Spencer who did undergraduate research in the Dr. Daniel Weeks laboratory, have been awarded 2020 Montgomery Biochemistry Scholar’s Prizes for their outstanding research accomplishments and excellent presentations at the Lata Symposium.

This prize was established by mentees, colleagues and friends of the late Dr. Rex Montgomery, Professor Emeritus of the Department of Biochemistry. Dr. Montgomery began his career at the University of Iowa in 1955, and is admired for his impact as a researcher, teacher and mentor. Dr. Montgomery is an internationally recognized carbohydrate biochemist and textbook author. While on the faculty, he served as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the College of Medicine, the Vice President of Research for the University and was the founding director of the University of Iowa Physician Assistant Program. Dr. Montgomery retired in 2005 after more than 50 years on the faculty.

Thursday, May 14, 2020