Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Rex Montgomery Scholarship Award

The 2021 Rex Montgomery Scholarships were awarded to:

1.Aimee Butler, Dr. Douglas Spitz’s laboratory
2.Emily Herum, Dr. Madeline Shea’s laboratory
3.Spencer Johnson, Dr. Douglas Spitz’s laboratory
4.Natalie Voss, Dr. Joel Geerling’s laboratory
5.Grant Welk, Dr. Douglas Spitz’s laboratory


Rex Montgomery Scholarships recognize sophomore or junior undergraduate students for their outstanding academic record and commitment to research. The purpose of this scholarship is to ease the recipient’s financial load at the University of Iowa during undergraduate education and research training.

This scholarship was established in 2014 by the late Dr. Rex Montgomery, Professor Emeritus of the Department of Biochemistry. Dr. Montgomery began his career at the University of Iowa in 1955 and was admired for his impact as a researcher, teacher and mentor. Dr. Montgomery was an internationally recognized carbohydrate biochemist and textbook author. While on the faculty, he served as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the College of Medicine, the Vice President of Research for the University and was the founding director of the University of Iowa Physician Assistant Program. Dr. Montgomery retired in 2005 after more than 50 years on the faculty.



Thursday, May 6, 2021