Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Club (BMBC)

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Club (BMBC) is an active student-run, faculty-sponsored association that brings together Biochemistry undergraduate majors for educational and social events. Past activities include pizza with Professors, laboratory open houses, science movie screenings, and picnics with graduate students.

Mission Statement: To provide community among Biochemistry undergraduate majors at the University of Iowa and to offer resources and support to its members that will foster success as an undergraduate student, professional development, and career planning.

BMBC Officers

Co-Presidents: Ethan Hahlbeck (ethan-hahlbeck@uiowa.edu) and Christian Brandt (christian-brandt@uiowa.edu)
The President acts as the primary representative for BMBC, plans and implements activities of the club, and oversees all endeavors.


Vice President: Mengcheng Guo (mengcheng-guo@uiowa.edu)
The Vice President works closely with the President to plan activities for the club and assist in their implementation.


Co-Secretaries: Aditi Parab (aditi-parab@uiowa.edu) and Samantha Thompson (samantha-g-thompson@uiowa.edu)
The secretary keeps records of meeting attendance, club functions, and finances.


Co-Treasurers: Connor Williams (cwilliams42@uiowa.edu) and Chloe Ovel (chloe-ovel@uiowa.edu)
The treasurer investigates expenses for club functions and acts as a liaison between the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and The University of Iowa.


Co-Social Media Coordinators: Victory Obielodan (victory-obielodan@uiowa.edu) and Ryan McLerran (ryan-mclerran@uiowa.edu)
The social media coordinator is responsible for maintaining active social media accounts that list upcoming events and post accomplishments of the club and its members.

Events via Zoom

Please watch this site for information regarding BMBC events.

Meeting Times/Places

    Weekly BMBC meetings will be held - please watch this site for more information.

    Follow us on social media!

    • Instagram: @bmbc.uiowa
    • Twitter: @bmbcuiowa
    • Facebook

    Contact Information

    Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Club (BMBC)
    The University of Iowa
    51 Newton Road
    4-403 Bowen Science Building
    Iowa City, Iowa 52242

    Name and e-mail address of faculty sponsor:

    Lori Wallrath, PhD

    Professor of Biochemistry
    lori-wallrath@uiowa.edu