Biochemistry Awards

IDT & Smith-Gehring Graduate Fellowships

The IDT and Smith-Gehring Graduate Fellowships are awarded to three of the most meritorious second year Biochemistry graduate students based on academic and research achievements. Fellows will receive $5000 research accounts to support travel during the course of their PhD.

The IDT Graduate Fellowships were established through a gift made by Dr. Joseph Walder, Adjuct Professor of Biochemisty. Dr. Walder started his independent research career as a faculty member in the Department in 1978 and launched Integrated DNA Technologies (IDT) in 1987.

The Smith-Gehring Graduate Fellowship was established through a gift made in memory of Dr. Elizabeth K. Smith, a 1943 PhD in Biochemistry, and from the gift of Dr. Lois Bigger Gehring, a great friend of the Department.

IDT Fellows

YearAwardee NameMentor
2017Christopher BallPrice
2017Kelli SylversDavies
2016Colleen CaldwellMaria Spies
2016Timothy CollingsworthSchnieders

Smith-Gehring Fellows

YearAwardee NameMentor
2017Alicia OrtizDeMali
2016Hannah MillerDeMali

Marion Dave Francis Student Innovator Award

Established to honor Dr. Marion Dave Francis, this $500 cash award recognizes a PhD student whose research has demonstrated their singular personal initiative, creativity, and resulting discontinuous discovery, as exemplified by Dr. Francis. The recipient of the award will be selected annually by the leadership team of the Department of Biochemistry. The selection will come from Faculty nominations of graduate students who have completed their PhD work by the nomination deadline. Non-awarded nominations will remain active for three years past graduation date.

YearAwardee NameMentor
2017Elizabeth BoehmWashington

Clarence P. Berg Award

Former students of Professor Berg created this award in his honor. This is a $200 cash award to be given every other year to a graduate student in Biochemistry who displays qualities of scholarship, integrity, cooperativeness, consideration and a willingness to help others. The recipient of the award will be selected by the faculty of the Department of Biochemistry at the end of May in even years. The selection will come from graduate students who have completed their PhD work during the appropriate two-year interval. The faculty agrees that the primary emphasis shall properly be on scholarship, but that there will be a strong secondary emphasis on personal qualifications and career potential. 

Clarence P. Berg, an internationally known amino acid biochemist who was a member of the department for 36 years (1932-1968). Dr. Berg is well known as the author of the 1980 book, “The University of Iowa and Biochemistry from their Beginnings.”

Year   Awardee NameMentor
2016Lacy BartonGeyer
2014John PryorWashington
2012 Xiao Peng  DeMali
2010Susan O'DonnellShea
2008Zeynep Akyol AtamanShea
2006Rhonda NewmanShea
2004Wendy Van ScyocShea
2002Jon RubachPlapp
2000Cheryl BaileyWeeks
1998Kristen ScottGeyer
1996Liskin Swint KruseRobertson
1994Daniel KephartPrice
1992John DagleWalder
1990William ShalongoStellwagen
1988David LoweryVan Ness
1986David T. DudleySpector
1984Tristam ParslowGranner
1982Robert J. GouldSpector
1980Gary L. FirestoneHeath
1978Ross C. HardisonChalkley
1976Richard McGeeSpector
1974Rodney L. BalhornGranner
1972David B. HensonSwenson
1970Grace M. LehrerBarker

Subramanian Thesis Award

This is a $500 award that will be given annually to a doctoral graduate student for outstanding thesis work. Consideration will be given to distribute the award among distinct areas of Biochemistry (e.g. nucleic acids and molecular genetics, proteins and structural biology, metabolism and regulation, disease and parasites, plant molecular biology, etc.). The student will be chosen by faculty vote. In the event of a tie, the two “co-recipients” will each be given $400. There is a maximum of two “co-recepients.”

Dr. Alap Subramanian obtained his PhD from the Department of Biochemistry in 1964 working under the late Professor George Kalnitsky. He parlayed this experience with training from Irving Klotz at Northwestern and both Bernard Davis and Herman Kalckar at Harvard Medical School, into a highly successful career at the Max-Planck-Institute.

Year   Awardee NameMentor
2017Elizabeth BoehmWashington
2015Lacy BartonGeyer
2014Karina KruthRubenstein
2013 John PryorWashington
2012Larry GrayKhademi
2011Xiao PengDeMali
2010Bret FreudenthalWashington
2009Stanley SedorePrice
2008Eric BrownRamaswamy
2007Bryan AllenWeeks
2006Daniel FerraroRamaswamy
2006Rhonda NewmanShea
2005Greta Schrift LoringMurphy
2004Tingting YaoCohen
2002Jon RubachPlapp
2001Olav JarenShea
2000Cammon ArringtonRobertson
1999Junmin PengPrice
1998Kristen ScottGeyer
1997Deborah ThurmondGoodridge
1997Greg DeKosterRoberston
1996Leigh Ann HenricksenWold 
1995David MitchellDeschenes