Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Graduate Students

Adnan Ahmed

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7932
Email: adnan-ahmed-2@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Lab Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: Texas Tech University

Fletcher Bain

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-500 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-3223
Email: fletcher-bain@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Maria Spies, PhD
Undergraduate Institution: University of Iowa

 

Christopher Ball

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 3120 MERF
Phone: (319) 335-6742
Email: christopher-ball-1@uiowa.edu  
Mentor: David Price, PhD
Undergraduate Institution: University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

Divya Bhat

Program: Cancer Biology
Address: 4-532 BSB
​Phone: (319) 335-3223
Email: divya-bhat@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Maria Spies, PhD
Undergraduate Institution: University of Wisconsin-Madison

 

Colleen Caldwell

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-500 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-3223
Email: colleen-caldwell@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Maria Spies, PhD
Undergraduate Institution: Gustavas Adolphus College

Grace Ciampa

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7932
Email: grace-ciampa@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Lab Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: University of Massachusetts-Lowell

Nicholas Cronin

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7932
Email: nicholas-cronin@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Kris DeMali, PhD
Undergraduate Institution: South Dakota State University

Kelli Davie

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 3310E PBDB
​Phone: (319) 335-3228
Email: kelli-sylvers@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Brandon Davies, PhD
Undergraduate Institution: College of Saint Scholastica


 

Gillian DeWane

Program: Molecular Medicine
Address: 4-470 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7662
Email: gillian-dewane@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Kris DeMali, PhD
Undergraduate Institution: University of Minnesota Twin Cities

Zachary Frevert

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7932
Email: zachary-frevert@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Todd Washington, PhD 
Undergraduate Intitution: Creighton University

Ashley Goll

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7932
Email: ashley-goll@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Lab Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: University of Iowa

 

Will Hacker

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-500 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7894
Email: william-hacker@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Adrian Elcock, DPhil
Undergraduate Institution: Cornell University

Nicholas Hammons

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7932
Email: nicholas-hammons@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Lab Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: North Dakota State University

Kathryn Hobbs

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7932
Email: kathryn-hobbs@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Dr. Michael A. Spies
Undergraduate Institution: Iowa State University

Diamond Jelani

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7932
Email: diamond-jelani@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Ernesto Fuentes, PhD 
Undergraduate Institution: Knox College

 

Colten Lankford

Program: Molecular Medicine 
Address: 4-711 BSB
​Phone: (319) 335-6516
Email: colten-lankford@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Sheila Baker, PhD
Undergraduate Institution: Auburn University

Emily Lavering

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7932
Email: emily-d-hansen@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Daniel Weeks, PhD
Undergraduate Institution: Brigham Young University

Justin Ling

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7932
Email: justin-ling@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Todd Washington, PhD
Undergraduate Institution: Iowa State University

 

Ryan Mahling

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7888
Email: ryan-mahling@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Madeline Shea, PhD
Undergraduate Insitution: University of Minnesota-Duluth

Sara Mayer

Program: Genetics
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7932
Email: sara-mayer@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Lab Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: Iowa State University

 

Robert McDonnell

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-500 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7894
Email: robert-mcdonnell@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Adrian Elcock, DPhil
Undergraduate Institution: Saint Ambrose University 

Miriam McDonough

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7932
Email: miriam-mcdonough@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Lab Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: Simpson College

James McIntyre 

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7932
Email: james-mcintyre@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Maria Spies, PhD
Undergraduate Institution: University of California-Merced

Elizabeth Melton

Program: Genetics 
Address: 4-700 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-6516
Email: elizabeth-melton@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Sheila Baker, PhD
Undergraduate Institution: Iowa State University

Spydel Nardy

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7932
Email: spydel-nardy@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Lab Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: Iowa State University

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Brittany Ripley

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7501
Email: brittany-ripley@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Todd Washington, PhD  
Undergraduate Institution: Southern Oregon University

Alicia Salvi

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-411A BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7662
Email: alicia-ortiz@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Kris DeMali, PhD
Undergraduate Institution: University of Nebraska- Lincoln

 

Venkata Sanaboyana

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-500 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7894
Email: venkata-sanaboyana@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Adrian Elcock, DPhil
Undergraduate Institution: Institute of Technology Guwahati

Rebecca Splitt

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7932
Email: rebecca-splitt@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Lab Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: Bradley University

John Tworek

Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-403 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7932
Email: john-tworek@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Lab Rotations
Undergraduate Institution: Augustana College

 

Zachary Wehrspan

​Program: Biochemistry
Address: 4-500 BSB
Phone: (319) 335-7894
Email: zachary-wehrspan@uiowa.edu
Mentor: Adrian Elcock, DPhil
Undergraduate Institution: University of Iowa