Campbell named the 2020 recipient of the Herbert Tabor Research Award and Lectureship

Date: Monday, July 22, 2019

Kevin Campbell, PhDKevin Campbell, PhD, professor and department executive officer of molecular physiology and biophysics, and professor of neurology, has been selected to be the 2020 recipient of the Herbert Tabor Research Award and Lectureship.

The Herbert Tabor Research Award and Lectureship was established by the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) to recognize the many contributions of Dr. Herbert Tabor.

This award is given for excellence in biological chemistry, molecular biology and contributions to the community of scientists, and includes a $30,000 research award.

A Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, and a UI faculty member since 1981, Campbellā€™s research focuses on understanding the molecular, cellular, and physiological basis of various forms of muscular dystrophy and on developing therapeutic strategies to treat these diseases.

Campbell also holds the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver Biomedical Research Chair and directs the Senator Paul D. Wellstone Muscular Dystrophy Cooperative Research Center at the UI. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Campbell will attend the ASBMB National Meeting in April 2020 to receive his award and give the opening lecture at this annual meeting.