Patients are transported via the University of Iowa’s Air and Mobile Critical Care Services.  AirCare was the state's first air ambulance and the 11th in the nation. Established in 1979, AirCare operates three 24/7 bases, one located at the University of Iowa in Iowa City, the second located at Covenant Medical Center in Waterloo and the third located at Mercy Medical Center in Dubuque . Total flight volume for the entire program is approximately 800 flights annually, including scene responses and inter-facility transports. In 2014, AirCare became the first air medical service based in Iowa to be CAMTS accredited. The University of Iowa transports critically ill neonatal and pediatric patients using AirCare as well as our MobileCare ground transport vehicles. These special patients are cared for by our Neonatal/Pediatric Transport Team.

Medical Director:

Joshua Stilley, MD

Nurse Manager:

Diane Lamb, RN, BSN, MSN, CMTE, CEN

Assistant Nurse Manager:

Melissa Kiger, RN, BSN, CFRN


AirCare 1 - Iowa City

Flight Nurses:

Julie Davis, RN, BSN, MSN, NPR, CCRN

​Karla Dillard, RN, CFRN

Patrick Doser, RN, BSN, CFRN, CPEN, CEN

Jeff Lipcamon, RN, BSN, CFRN

Stephen Schultz, RN, BSN, CFRN, PM

Abby White, RN, BSN, CEN

Flight Paramedics:

Ty Hobbs, PM, NRP, CC-P, FP-C

Nick Nedza, PM, NRP, CC-P, FP-C

Christian Swangle, PM, NRP, CC-P, FP-C

Casey Thompson, PM, NRP, CC-P, FP-C

Neonatal/Pediatric Flight Nurses:

Sharlene Cordes, RN, BSN

Jessica Downs, RN, BSN, CCRN-NIC

Jodi Ellerman, RN

Amy Kuster, RN, BSN

Kate Schwenker, RN, BSN, CCRN-NIC

Sheila Schmidt, RN, BSN, RNC

Lead Pilot

Tim Whaylen


Eugene Harvey

Marshall Murdock

Brent Peters

Lead Mechanic:

John Shive


Kevin Carey

AirCare 2 - Waterloo

Chief Flight Nurse:

Amy Gehrke, RN, BSN, CEN

Flight Nurses:

Kris Baerenwald, RN, BS, PM, CEN

Ron Schlatter, RN, CEN

Jessica Van Dyke, RN, BS

Lisa Winter, RN, CEN

Flight Paramedics:

Nick Anderson, PM, NRP, CC-P

Steve Carey, PM, NRP, CC-P, FP-C

Steve Fuller, PM, NRP, CC-P, FP-C

Mark Mahler, PM, NRP, CC-P, FP-C

Chris Ward, PM, NRP, CC-P

Lead Pilot:

Chris Doyle


Tom Galbraith

Chuck Sharkey

Terry Timp


Jack Simers

AirCare 3 - Dubuque

Chief Flight Nurse:

Katie Harris, RN, BSN, CEN

Flight Nurses:

Dennis Bradley, RN

Paige Klocke, RN, BSN

Chris Lange, RN, BSN, CCRN

Abram Miller, RN, BSN, CCRN

Tim Noel, RN, BSN

Flight Paramedics:

Dean Jensen, PM, NRP, CC-P

Brad Soat, PM, NRP, CC-P

Ben Waldera, PM, NRP, CC-P

Dan White, PM, NRP, CC-P

Troy Wyatt, PM, NRP, CC-P

Lead Pilot:

Paul Horstman


Austen Clark

Donovan Moser


John Beranek