Toggle Search

Research Faculty and Staff

Barcey T. Levy, MD, PhD

Vice Chair for Research
Professor of Family Medicine
Phone: (319) 384-7000
Email: barcey-levy@uiowa.edu

  • Colorectal cancer screening
  • Women's health
  • Osteoporosis
  • Health promotion 

George R. Bergus, MD, MA-Ed

 

Professor of Family Medicine
Phone: (319) 384-7566
Email: george-bergus@uiowa.edu

  • Psychiatry in a primary care setting
  • Medical decision making

Barry L. Carter, PharmD

 

Professor of Pharmacy
Phone: (319) 335-8456
Email: barry-carter@uiowa.edu

  • Hypertension
  • Pharmacy/physician collaboration 

Jeanette M. Daly, RN, PhD

Associate Research Scientist
Phone: (319) 384-8995
Email: jeanette-daly@uiowa.edu

  • Elder abuse
  • Legislation related to elder abuse
  • Colorectal cancer screening
  • Fecal immunochemical testing 

Jeffrey Dawson, ScD

Professor of Biostatistics
Phone: (319) 384-1510
Email: jeffrey-dawson@uiowa.edu

  • Statistical consultant for family medicine
  • Biostatistics 

John W. Ely, MD, MPH

Professor of Family Medicine
Phone: (319) 384-7533
Email: john-ely@uiowa.edu

  • Physicians' Information Needs
  • Diagnostic Errors
  • Checklists 

Mike E. Ernst, PharmD

Clinical Professor of Family Medicine
Phone: (319) 384-7756
Email: michael-ernst@uiowa.edu

  • Geriatrics
  • Drug-related problems
  • Appropriate medication use
  • Ambulatory blood pressure management 

Mark A. Graber, MD

Clinical Professor of Emergency Medicine
Phone: (319) 353-6360
Email: mark-graber@uiowa.edu

  • Medical ethics
  • Medical informatics 

Gerald Jogerst, MD

Senior Vice Chair
Professor of Family Medicine
Phone: (319) 384-7704
Email: gerald-jogerst@uiowa.edu

  • Elder abuse
  • International family medicine training
  • Methods of teaching geriatric medicine 

Clarence D. Kreiter, PhD

Professor, Office of Consultation and Research in Medical Education
Phone: (319) 335-8906
Email: clarence-kreiter@uiowa.edu

  • Statistics
  • Performance assessment
  • Psychological measurement
  • Item response theory
  • Generalization theory
  • Experimental design
  • Social implications of testing and test design
  • Clinical reasoning assessment
  • OSCE assessment 

Marcy E. Rosenbaum, PhD

Associate Professor, Office of Consultation and Research in Medical Education
Phone: (319) 335-8612
Email: marcy-rosenbaum@uiowa.edu

  • Medical education
  • Physician-patient communications
  • Qualitative research 

Michelle Weckmann, MD

Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
Phone: (319) 384-7538
Email: michelle-weckman@uiowa.edu

  • Delirium (identification, treatment and prevention)
  • Palliative Care 

Research Support Staff

Laura Gusomano, AA

Research Secretary 
Office: 01290-5 PFP 
Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242 
Work Phone: 319-384-7763
Email: laura-gusomano@uiowa.edu


Parang Kim, MA

Research Secretary 
Office: 01290-8 PFP 
Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242 
Work Phone: 319-384-8544
Email: parkim@healthcare.uiowa.edu


Yinghui Xu, MS

Statistician/Biostatistics Manager
Office: 01293-C PFP 
Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242 
Work Phone: 319-384-5078
Email: yinghui-xu@uiowa.edu