Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Research Faculty and Staff

Associate Head for Research                   

Barcey T. Levy, MD, PhDBarcey Levy Photo

Associate Head for Research
Professor of Family Medicine
Phone: 1-319-384-7000
Email: barcey-levy@uiowa.edu

  • Colorectal cancer screening
  • Women's health
  • Osteoporosis
  • Health promotion 

Director of Research Development

Stephanie Bunt, PhD

Research Assistant Professor
Department of Family Medicine
Phone: 1-402-547-8886
Email: stephanie-bunt@uiowa.edu

  • Telehealth

Research Faculty

George R. Bergus, MD, MA-Ed George Bergus Photo

Professor of Family Medicine
Phone: 1-319-384-7566
Email: george-bergus@uiowa.edu
 

  • Psychiatry in a primary care setting
  • Medical decision making

 Jeffrey Dawson, ScDJeffrey Dawson Photo

Professor of Biostatistics
Phone: 1-319-384-1510
Email: jeffrey-dawson@uiowa.edu

  • Statistical consultant for family medicine
  • Biostatistics 

John W. Ely, MD, MPHJohn Ely Photo

Professor of Family Medicine
Phone: 1-319-384-7533
Email: john-ely@uiowa.edu

  • Physicians' Information Needs
  • Diagnostic Errors
  • Checklists 

Mike E. Ernst, PharmDMike Ernst, portrait

Clinical Professor of Family Medicine
Phone: 1-319-384-7756
Email: michael-ernst@uiowa.edu

  • Geriatrics
  • Drug-related problems
  • Appropriate medication use
  • Ambulatory blood pressure management 

Gerald Jogerst, MDGerald Jogerst Photo

Professor Emeritus of Family Medicine
Phone: 1-319-384-7704
Email: gerald-jogerst@uiowa.edu

  • Elder abuse
  • International family medicine training
  • Methods of teaching geriatric medicine 

Clarence D. Kreiter, PhDClarence Kreiter Photo

Professor, Office of Consultation and Research in Medical Education
Phone: 1-319-335-8906
Email: clarence-kreiter@uiowa.edu

  • Statistics
  • Performance assessment
  • Psychological measurement
  • Item response theory
  • Generalization theory
  • Experimental design
  • Social implications of testing and test design
  • Clinical reasoning assessment
  • OSCE assessment 

Marcy E. Rosenbaum, PhDMarcy Rosenbaum Photo

Associate Professor, Office of Consultation and Research in Medical Education
Phone: 1-319-335-8612
Email: marcy-rosenbaum@uiowa.edu

  • Medical education
  • Physician-patient communications
  • Qualitative research 

 Michelle Weckmann, MDMichelle Weckmann Photo

Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
Phone: 1-319-384-7538
Email: michelle-weckman@uiowa.edu

  • Delirium (identification, treatment and prevention)
  • Palliative Care 

Research Staff

Jeanette Daly, RN, PhD 

Research Scientist
Phone: 1-319-384-8995
Email: jeanette-daly@uiowa.edu

  • Elder abuse
  • Legislation related to elder abuse
  • Colorectal cancer screening
  • ​Fecal immunochemical testing 

Yinghui Xu, MSYinghui Xu Photo

Statistician/Biostatistics Manager
Office: 01293-C PFP 
Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242 
Phone: 1-319-384-5078
Email: yinghui-xu@uiowa.edu

 


Megan Schmidt, M.Ed., MPHMegan Schmidt Photo

Research Associate 
Office: 01102-K PFP 
Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242 
Phone: 1-319-384-8751
Email: megan-e-schmidt@uiowa.edu

 


Parang Kim, MAParang Kim Photo

Research Associate 
Office: 01103 PFP 
Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242 
Phone: 1-319-384-8544
Email: parang-kim@uiowa.edu

 


Joseph HitchonJoseph Hitchon, portrait

Administrative Services Coordinator, Research 
Office: 01290-8 PFP 
Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242 
Phone: 1-319-678-8443
Email: joseph-hitchon@uiowa.edu

 


Laura Gusomano, AALaura Gusomano Photo

Research Secretary 
Office: 01290-5 PFP 
Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242 
Phone: 1-319-384-7763
Email: laura-gusomano@uiowa.edu