Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Research Faculty and Staff

Barcey T. Levy, MD, PhD

Barcey Levy Photo

Vice Chair for Research
Professor of Family Medicine
Phone: 1-319-384-7000
Email: barcey-levy@uiowa.edu

  • Colorectal cancer screening
  • Women's health
  • Osteoporosis
  • Health promotion 

George R. Bergus, MD, MA-Ed

 George Bergus Photo

Professor of Family Medicine
Phone: 1-319-384-7566
Email: george-bergus@uiowa.edu

  • Psychiatry in a primary care setting
  • Medical decision making

Maresi Berry-Stoelzle, MD, PhD

Maresi Berry-Stoelze Photo

Clinical Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
Phone: 1-319-356-2076
Email: maresi-berry@uiowa.edu

  • Cancer Survivorship
  • Advanced Care Planning

Barry L. Carter, PharmD

 Barry Carter Photo

Professor of Pharmacy
Phone: 1-319-335-8456
Email: barry-carter@uiowa.edu

  • Hypertension
  • Pharmacy/physician collaboration 

Jeanette M. Daly, RN, PhD

Jeanette Daly Photo

Research Scientist
Phone: 1-319-384-8995
Email: jeanette-daly@uiowa.edu

  • Elder abuse
  • Legislation related to elder abuse
  • Colorectal cancer screening
  • Fecal immunochemical testing 

Jeffrey Dawson, ScD

Jeffrey Dawson Photo

Professor of Biostatistics
Phone: 1-319-384-1510
Email: jeffrey-dawson@uiowa.edu

  • Statistical consultant for family medicine
  • Biostatistics 

John W. Ely, MD, MPH

John Ely Photo

Professor of Family Medicine
Phone: 1-319-384-7533
Email: john-ely@uiowa.edu

  • Physicians' Information Needs
  • Diagnostic Errors
  • Checklists 

Mike E. Ernst, PharmD

Mike Ernst, portrait

Clinical Professor of Family Medicine
Phone: 1-319-384-7756
Email: michael-ernst@uiowa.edu

  • Geriatrics
  • Drug-related problems
  • Appropriate medication use
  • Ambulatory blood pressure management 

Gerald Jogerst, MD

Gerald Jogerst Photo

Professor Emeritus of Family Medicine
Phone: 1-319-384-7704
Email: gerald-jogerst@uiowa.edu

  • Elder abuse
  • International family medicine training
  • Methods of teaching geriatric medicine 

Clarence D. Kreiter, PhD

Clarence Kreiter Photo

Professor, Office of Consultation and Research in Medical Education
Phone: 1-319-335-8906
Email: clarence-kreiter@uiowa.edu

  • Statistics
  • Performance assessment
  • Psychological measurement
  • Item response theory
  • Generalization theory
  • Experimental design
  • Social implications of testing and test design
  • Clinical reasoning assessment
  • OSCE assessment 

Marcy E. Rosenbaum, PhD

Marcy Rosenbaum Photo

Associate Professor, Office of Consultation and Research in Medical Education
Phone: 1-319-335-8612
Email: marcy-rosenbaum@uiowa.edu

  • Medical education
  • Physician-patient communications
  • Qualitative research 

Michelle Weckmann, MD

Michelle Weckmann Photo

Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
Phone: 1-319-384-7538
Email: michelle-weckman@uiowa.edu

  • Delirium (identification, treatment and prevention)
  • Palliative Care 

Research Support Staff

Yinghui Xu, MS

Yinghui Xu Photo

Statistician/Biostatistics Manager
Office: 01293-C PFP 
Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242 
Phone: 1-319-384-5078
Email: yinghui-xu@uiowa.edu


Joseph Hitchon

Joseph Hitchon, portrait

Administrative Services Coordinator, Research 
Office: 01290-8 PFP 
Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242 
Phone: 1-319-678-8443
Email: joseph-hitchon@uiowa.edu


Parang Kim, MA

Parang Kim Photo

Research Assistant 
Office: 01103 PFP 
Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242 
Phone: 1-319-384-8544
Email: parang-kim@uiowa.edu


Megan Schmidt, M.Ed., MPH

Megan Schmidt Photo

Research Assistant 
Office: 01102-K PFP 
Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242 
Phone: 1-319-384-8751
Email: megan-e-schmidt@uiowa.edu


Laura Gusomano, AA

Laura Gusomano Photo

Research Secretary 
Office: 01290-5 PFP 
Address: 200 Hawkins Drive, Iowa City, Iowa 52242 
Phone: 1-319-384-7763
Email: laura-gusomano@uiowa.edu